TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Tesla Manual Gear Shifting - For Geeks Only

Discussion in 'Model S: Driving Dynamics' started by gavine, Apr 16, 2015.

1. gavine

gavine Petrol Head turned EV Enthusiast

I have been driving for 30 years and my first 20 years was with manual transmissions. The past ten years have been automatics and I hated them.

This is very geeky, but the other day I "made pretend" I was driving a manual in my Model S. The car has so much pick-up that I found I was "shifting" every second. The key was to not let off the accelerator all the way when "shifting" because I wanted to get close to neutral without regen. Anyway, it was pretty cool and I got to thinking.....If Tesla made a virtual manual shift kit for the Model S, I would be first in line to buy one. They could have a dummy clutch and shifter and set a program that makes engine sounds over the speakers. When the "clutch" is depressed, you can rev the "engine" compete with a tach on the display. It shouldn't be all that difficult to do. They can synchronize the clutch and accelerator to move the car accordingly and have the shifter change the rev sounds to match the "gear' that you're in.

I know this is nuts but it would be so cool.

2. Thud

Thud Member

While we're at it, let's put a metal crank on the front of the car that you have to turn vigorously a few times before it will start.

3. Cosmacelf

Cosmacelf Active Member

If you drive mountain roads, or roads with lots of bends, then you already get the feel of a manual transmission with the single pedal driving of the model S.

4. caps04

caps04 Member

I like this idea. If they can do creep mode and low regen mode to ease in drivers of automatic, why not create a virtual manual gear shift effect and a at least a virtual gear stick on the tPad!