Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Tesla Model S Owner from CA

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.

CA_PA

Sep 5, 2018
CA
Hi guys,

Newbie here - be gentle!

I am a Model S 75 (think front wheel drive) owner here in SoCal moving to Philadelphia suburbs in November and I have some naive questions:

- Never lived where it snows so that will be interesting. How will my Tesla do there in winter (including the day it snows) in terms of range etc.
- I have a high registration renewal cost in CA (~$700+) in CA. What should I expect to pay in PA? I see on the website that it's sub $75 bucks (!!) but not sure if there are any additional surcharge on electric cars etc.
- I am a little concerned about the charging infrastructure in PA...or put it this way (and maybe I haven't researched) I think the charging infrastructure, both superchargers and private chargers is great in CA and my sense is it's not so great (definitely superchargers) there in PA. Is that fair to say?
- Related to charging, do most of you guys/ girls charge at home and if yes are there suitable electricity plans? In CA it can get very expensive to charge at home even with an electric vehicle friendly plan.
- Do I need to change tires?
- Any other guidance for an out-of-state relocation?

Really appreciate any guidance.

-therea no front wheel drive only Tesla, your car is rearwheel.
--if you are worried get snow tires, you will be fine.
--battery degredation does happen in the cold, it varies how cold try a quick Google search for different experiences.
--check the Tesla supercharger map.
--check the local elecric companies for cost of electricity.

Not trying to be a dick but almost all of your questions could have bee. Googled.

• Funny
Reactions: TimK and P85_DA