Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Tesla Registration under Living Trust

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hi,

My new Tesla Model 3 is registered under our Living Trust name. However the Motor Vehicle Purchase Agreement lists only the name of the Living Trust and does not list the names of the trustees (my wife and I). We had provided this information when we filled out the order online. My other accounts (e.g., home) that are under the Living Trust have "XXX Living Trust ABC (Trustee) and XYZ (Trustee)".

I am applying for the California CAV decals and the form asks for the full names of the owner and co-owner. I am not sure how to handle this when our names (as trustees) are appearing on the Motor Vehicle Purchase Agreement.

Has anyone else experienced this?

Thanks.

• Informative
Reactions: Pkmmte
I'm not a lawyer, nor a trust administrator, but I do have some experience with living trusts (my family and my parent's). I would say that you should register your car in both yours and your wife's name with the DMV and then list your car as an asset within your trust.

If you need the name of a family trust advisor, PM me. He's located in Almaden Valley.

Reactions: Pstreicher1
Upvote 0
Also not a lawyer, but my Mom had a Trust. All of her bank accounts listed the full legal name of the Trust, but as it was a living Trust the bank required her SSN. Any bank account she had that listed her name directly was not covered by the Trust and would have to go through Probate. Referencing an asset in the Trust, that is not actually held by the Trust, may or may not work depending on where you live. Definitely call your lawyer.

Upvote 0
I forget the exact reason but my lawyer did not recommend titling our vehicles under the trust name.