Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Tesla reliability reputation

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
With the Model 3 coming, people will check Tesla reliability surveys on the web. The Model S will be a good starting point.

I've been relying on TrueDelta for a few years and I fill their surveys. I really like this website to check the reliability of a car. Same for ConsumerReports but this website doesn't have all cars.

So, I invite any Model S owner to register to this website and hopefully increase the reliability score of the Model S.

Thank you!

TrueDelta | Tesla Reliability

If you delve into the data a bit more, you'll see that most of the issues are with rattles and other small fit/finish niggles. Much like in Consumer Reports, it doesn't really take into account the severity of the problem. In some ways, Tesla works against itself, with no engine noise/vibration, people notice those kind of things a lot more. Also, I think with Tesla being a new company and a pretty responsive one at that, people are quicker to report issues in the hope that it will be quickly improved/replaced - or at least will see a quick aftermarket upgrade (see floormats and trunk lighting). Compare this with large German car companies who probably don't even read your emails. Maybe if you have a great individual dealership, they might try to help you out, but it's not going to fundamentally change the manufacturing process like it might at Tesla.

with no engine noise/vibration, people notice those kind of things a lot more.

I came from a Chevy Spark EV, a $15k car with an electric motor slipshod in as a California compliance car. That car had fewer creaks and rattles than my Tesla.

Same applies for all other electric drive vehicles... Tesla is simply not good with interiors.

I hope they fix that soon. :(

Last edited: