TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Tesla service loaner policy

Discussion in 'Tesla' started by andrewket, Dec 25, 2016.

1. andrewket

andrewket Well-Known Member

#1 andrewket, Dec 25, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 27, 2016
    I traded in my P85D for a P100D a few days ago, and there were a few minor items that Tesla service is going to take care of during an appointment in late Jan.

Generally I schedule my service appointments for when a Tesla loaner is available, even if that means waiting a few additional weeks. I've been driving a model S since early 2013, and we now only own electric cars powered in part by solar. I can't stand ICE cars anymore. I'll go way out of my way to stay electric.

So I was quite dismayed to be told by my service center that Tesla will no longer be offering Tesla loaners starting in January; only cars via enterprise. I told them I was disappointed by this change, and they said they were too, but the decision came from above.

My guess is Tesla is looking ahead to model 3, with smaller margins on the sale of the car, combined with their goal of not making any money on service and needing to reduce costs. They're making the change now to reset customer expectations and to make this a company wide change vs a model 3 change later.

I considered the option Tesla has to continue to provide tesla loaners to Model S/X owners only, but that creates an atmosphere of a class system, something I think Tesla is well advised to avoid or at least discourage if possible.