TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Tessie won't start

Discussion in 'Roadster' started by Doug_G, May 7, 2016.

  1. Doug_G

    Doug_G Lead Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    15,853
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    Well this is a new one on me. Went to drive the car and it was dead. The car's firmware appears to have bricked itself somehow.

    ID:1535 VMS: Linux kernel version doesn't match car-wide release
    ID:887 Can't start Version number mismatch.

    IMG_5408.JPG

    IMG_5409.JPG
     
  2. Johan

    Johan Took a TSLA bear test. Came back negative.

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    6,890
    Location:
    Drammen, Norway
    This happened with the car just having sat there? Or was there some kind of upgrade just before?
     
  3. Doug_G

    Doug_G Lead Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    15,853
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    Just sittng there. Roadsters can't do over-the-air updates.
     
  4. Johan

    Johan Took a TSLA bear test. Came back negative.

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    6,890
    Location:
    Drammen, Norway
    Is there some hard reset procedure for the Roadster?
     
  5. Doug_G

    Doug_G Lead Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    15,853
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    Yes, you open and close the charge port door repeatedly. Tried that, nada.
     
  6. Johan

    Johan Took a TSLA bear test. Came back negative.

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    6,890
    Location:
    Drammen, Norway
    What about physically disconnecting the 12V battery for 10 minutes? Wouldn't that make the computers do a proper reboot? Or do they do that every time the car is started on the Roadster???
     
  7. Doug_G

    Doug_G Lead Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    15,853
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    Catch-22: the right front wheel well is up against the wall of the garage, and I can't move the car.

    Also it's a bit of an involved procedure just to try something that may or may not work. I changed the battery last month and it's a bit of a pain in the butt.
     
  8. Johan

    Johan Took a TSLA bear test. Came back negative.

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    6,890
    Location:
    Drammen, Norway
    What do I know anyway? Just trying to practice this "reasoning from first principles" strategy that an idol of mine has perfected.
     
  9. Jason S

    Jason S Model S Sig Perf (P85)

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1,350
    Location:
    Rocklin, CA
    It prolly can't communicate with the other modules. But I've no idea where the connections are.
    Look for chewed wires imho.
     
    • Like x 1
  10. wiztecy

    wiztecy Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,722
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, California, United States
    #10 wiztecy, May 7, 2016
    Last edited: May 7, 2016
    This happened to a person 2 years ago, kernel / version mismatch. Most likely an RFS / filesystem corruption... I work on Unix, grew up testing server based (working on SCO Unix) and now do embedded which I also been doing quite some time in Silicon Valley. I know it pretty well since its my profession and was a hobby of mine. This stuff is known to happen and I've seen it happen, the only way to get around it is to have a fully redundant filesystem running that can recover when things go south, but then your performance goes down the drain. We looked into doing that on the Amazon Kindle when I worked there but ditched it due to the enormous overhead.

    The fix which resolved the issue I recalled was to have Tesla upload the correct VMS firmware image. Roadster worked fine after the update. I'll try to find the old thread, but I don't know how lucky I'll be.

    Also dump your logs, you should be able to see the system level error messages.
     
    • Helpful x 2
    • Like x 1
  11. wiztecy

    wiztecy Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,722
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, California, United States
    Found it:
    Help! Stranded w Software Error 0x1533, 0x400

    Thread #23:
    "Just to update, the car went to Mt. Kisco, they've never seen this fault before. Apparently, re-flashing the firmware fixed it (as I'd suspected). I'm quite pleased by the way the folks at the Mt. Kisco center handled the issue. That said, I'll be very curious to see if it reoccurs, as they don't know why it happened."
     
    • Helpful x 2
    • Like x 1
  12. Johan

    Johan Took a TSLA bear test. Came back negative.

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    6,890
    Location:
    Drammen, Norway
    Man, what a great online community.
     
  13. Doug_G

    Doug_G Lead Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    15,853
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    Ah, that's why my search didn't find it - 1533 versus 1535. I wonder what the difference is?

    Seems like re-flashing may restore the car to proper operation. Hopefully Tesla can send someone to do that. I'd rather not flatbed another car to Montreal!!!
     
  14. AEdennis

    AEdennis Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,746
    Will they charge the Ranger fee to get someone out there to flash your car?
     
  15. wiztecy

    wiztecy Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,722
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, California, United States
    Panicopticon had a 1.5 Roadster, you have a 2.0. They're running different firmware images so it may throw a similar but slightly different error code.
     
  16. Panicopticon

    Panicopticon Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2014
    Messages:
    125
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY, USA
    I have a 2.0 actually. My issue was a rootfs version mismatch rather than the kernel. That likely explains the different error code and number. The fix is to take it in and have them reflash the VMS.

    I suspect you can get the car started and moving by disconnecting the two bulk connectors on the VMS and leaving them off. This will cause some other faults, but the VMS shouldn't actually required for the car to run. Keep in mind that if you do this the power door locks, trunk release and a few other similar things won't work.
     
    • Like x 2
  17. Doug_G

    Doug_G Lead Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    15,853
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    Most likely.
     
  18. Panicopticon

    Panicopticon Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2014
    Messages:
    125
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY, USA
    Out of curiosity, were you charging when it happened? Do you have an OVMS, and if so did it throw a bunch of errors beforehand? You could also dump and check the logs...
     
  19. bonnie

    bonnie Oil is for sissies.

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Messages:
    14,241
    Location:
    Columbia River Gorge
    So sorry to read this thread, Doug_G :(. Hoping Tessie will be back on the road shortly.
     
  20. Doug_G

    Doug_G Lead Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    15,853
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    I don't have an OVMS installed. Don't know when it actually happened, car was sitting in the garage at the time. Log just dumps a couple of errors; I think they are the same ones that appear on the screen.

    I expect I'll hear back from Montreal on Monday.
     

Share This Page