Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Testers wanted: connecting your AC to a google calendar

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Two months ago I got my first Tesla (Model S) and with winter approaching I tried to set a schedule for activating its AC in the morning, only to find out it was not possible. Being a software engineer I was easily able to fix that for myself, by using a Google Calendar to start and stop the AC.

This works just great for me, but I figure more people would like to have that. So I've created a setup (christened TeslaTasks) where I can handle more cars with the same logic. Right now I could use some testers to work out the kinks. But strangely I do not know that many people who own a Tesla ;-)

As a heads up: turning on the AC in your car will require entering your Tesla username and password, since I need to access the unofficial Tesla API. Just like VisibleTesla does.

Let me know if you are interested to help me test.

Let me add a little bit of explanation of how the software works;

• you create a special 'Tesla' Google calendar,
  • TeslaTasks monitors this Calendar every 3 minutes,
  • if it finds the start of an appointment, it will call the Tesla API to start your AC.
This means that if you need to leave at, say, 8 am, you can have an appointment in the Tesla calendar from 7:30 to 8 am, so your car and battery pack are defrosted and preheated when you leave.

• Informative
Reactions: BobAbooey
An app version of TeslaTasks is available for open beta test in the Google Play Store. The iPhone version is being worked on.

You really need cut & paste support so you can input the token w/out having to type it out. And the calendar URL. Both are very long.