TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

The Tesla App is taking longer to connect to my car

Discussion in 'Model S' started by Brunton, May 13, 2016.

  1. Brunton

    Brunton Pontificating the obvious

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    283
    Location:
    Goose Creek SC
    Since the last software update a couple weeks ago (sorry, I don't have the version number in front of me, but I think it's the latest one), my Tesla app is taking a lot longer to connect to the car. I get the little spinning wheelie, and a message that says it's waking the car. This takes several minutes, and sometimes it doesn't work at all, where it did before.

    In fact, my car's connectivity is substantially worse now than it was in the past. I've always had one "dead" spot right in front of my garage door (inconvenient, for sure), but otherwise the car always seemed to connect over the air very fast. On several occasions in the last few weeks I've driven several miles from my starting point before the car finally connects. Very annoying when I'm trying to use the navigator under voice command, as it comes back with "no connectivity" after "processing" for 30 seconds or so.

    Anyone else seen these behaviors recently?
     
  2. jerry33

    jerry33 S85 - VIN:P05130 - 3/2/13

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    12,764
    Location:
    Texas
    1. Did you try rebooting both displays?

    2. Did the always connected change it's setting after the upgrade?

    3. The App works by connecting to Tesla servers which then connect to ATT (or the Internet if they are going through wi-fi) which then connect to the car. The waking car message means that you've connected to the Tesla servers. It doesn't mean that those servers are connecting properly. There are a lot of connections between your phone and the car that can have problems when using the App, so it may not be your car, although it could be.

    FWIW. My connection has been better recently.
     
  3. Brunton

    Brunton Pontificating the obvious

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    283
    Location:
    Goose Creek SC
    1. Yep
    2. Nope
    3. Oh

    :)
     
  4. msnow

    msnow Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Messages:
    4,271
    Location:
    SoCal
    Mine works fine. Better call or email Tesla if you've checked everything in Jerry's post.
     
  5. Majerus

    Majerus Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    689
    Location:
    Illinois
    I seem to have the same problem
     
  6. Krebnarb

    Krebnarb Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2015
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Are you guys using the Android or iOS version of the app? The Tesla official app or Remote S if on iOS?
     
  7. Brunton

    Brunton Pontificating the obvious

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    283
    Location:
    Goose Creek SC
    Android - official app.
     
  8. RDuke

    RDuke Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    St. Petersburg, FL
    I've seen this problem from time to time. Last time it happened the app was trying to connect to the car via Brighthouse Network's hot-spot Wi-Fi service. No go. When I switched Wi-Fi off on my iPhone, the app connected to the car right away via LTE.
     
  9. Krebnarb

    Krebnarb Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2015
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    This is a pretty old review, and you've probably already seen this, but it does highlight issues with Android App connecting to the car.

    If you say this started happening to you only recently, it's probably not the reason, but he does have some tricks in the video to get it to connect. May be worth a try.
     
  10. Rockster

    Rockster Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,005
    Location:
    McKinney, TX
    Mine just started having problems today. (iOS)
     
  11. disillusioned

    disillusioned Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    Messages:
    96
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    I only have Android and it frequently appears it's just going to time out. I close the app and restart and it usually connects quickly.

    It also frequently requires two presses on the "turn on" for climate. But I know the drill now, so I wait and press again. Irritating, for sure.
     
  12. TaoJones

    TaoJones Beyond Driven

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,299
    Location:
    The Americas
    Interesting. After the last 2 2.17 updates, I was able to connect much faster, for example, to disable Valet. A few seconds every time.

    However, just prior to the last update (2.18.x), things got slow a couple of times to the point that I just gave up and used the MCU.

    Now, things are fast again. Hopefully they stay that way.
     
  13. amallah

    amallah Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Location:
    Monkton, MD
    I also noticed my phone (Samsung Galaxy S5) taking FOR EVER to connect to the car, I just assumed it was some problem with the Android app. This has been consistently slow. However, I installed it on BlueStacks (an android emulator for Windows) and it is INSTANT. I am not sure what the specific difference is between it on Bluestacks and my phone (they both come from Google Play) but the speed difference is startling.
     
    • Like x 1
  14. Gizmo17

    Gizmo17 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Location:
    NJ
    I've had issues connecting with the iPhone app also, even before the update. I frequently get "servers are busy" message. That's from Tesla app and more recently the "Remote S" app. One time I tried out the keyless feature and was stranded (very close to home), app would not connect to the car, I waited 15 minutes and still nothing. Finally had to be rescued by wifey. :-(
     
  15. Brunton

    Brunton Pontificating the obvious

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    283
    Location:
    Goose Creek SC
    Some good tips in the video - thanks Krenarb!

    One other problem I have all the time - hitting Location on the app always crashes it. Anybody have any suggestions there?
     
    • Like x 1
  16. Krebnarb

    Krebnarb Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2015
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Sorry to hear that, that's really frustrating! Really shouldn't happen in this day and age where servers can be built and scaled to handle millions of requests. This feature of remote app control really does seem to be an afterthought for Tesla. maybe it was built by an intern who left or something. They're gonna have to upgrade those servers before model 3 hits the road. I presume the 3 will use the same API.
     
  17. Karynt

    Karynt Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2016
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    I've been getting this on my iPhone app all day. Not pleased. I'm at my house, in a major city, where it has worked and connected in the past;
    my Apple iOS started with this issue today. How did you resolve it, or was it not resolved? Thanks:)
     

    Attached Files:

  18. msnow

    msnow Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Messages:
    4,271
    Location:
    SoCal
    Curious if you all have "Background App Refresh" turned on for your iPhone.
     
  19. jerry33

    jerry33 S85 - VIN:P05130 - 3/2/13

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    12,764
    Location:
    Texas
    The waking car messages means that you've connected to the Tesla servers, but the Tesla servers haven't connected to the car. There are several reasons this could be: LTE/WiFi not responding on the car, LTE/WiFi signal to the car blocked, Tesla servers can't connect to ATT or Internet, Tesla servers too busy so sending is delayed.
     
  20. SUPRKAR

    SUPRKAR Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    216
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I am having the same connecting problems as described. I can tell you it is as a result of the most recent update. it started acting up right after my car updated.
     
    • Funny x 1

Share This Page