TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

TIP: Android (Galaxy S3) pairing, phone lock / timeouts, and the Model S

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by FlasherZ, Nov 26, 2012.

  1. FlasherZ

    FlasherZ Sig Model S + Sig Model X + Model 3 Resv

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    7,019
    I did a brief search to look for common threads, but didn't find any with the search terms I was using -- my apologies if this is a duplicate. I was having problems with my Galaxy S3 paired to the Model S. When the phone was locked (due to timeout or manual lock), I could not place any calls (it would just silently fail and return to the media screen) nor could I connect to the phone for media choices.

    This is a known problem with several devices that run Android, in that if you use a pattern or PIN lock on the phone, bluetooth devices cannot start calls or media, regardless of the "make calls even when device locked" setting in the "accessory settings for call" menu of the phone app.

    In the main settings menu, under "security and lock screen", you must enable the "with swipe lock" option; this lock screen allows for bluetooth connections even when the phone is locked.

    The downside is that before entering your PIN or your pattern to unlock the phone, you must do a swipe; the upside is that the Model S works flawlessly with the phone.
     
  2. kevincwelch

    kevincwelch Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    2,017
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    Thanks for posting this. I have a Note 2, and this is what I'll be pairing with the Model S. I use a pin as well.

    Sent via Tapatalk.
     
  3. ChadS

    ChadS Petroleum is for sissies

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Messages:
    2,401
    I wonder if that's problem is due to Samsung's UI tweaks to Android? I have a Google Galaxy Nexus, which is made by Samsung and very similar to the S3. But my wife (using an HTC Android device) and I have not seen that problem even though we both use pattern locks, nor do we have the "with swipe lock" option in the security settings.

    It would be interesting to hear if somebody with a non-Samsung device hits the issue. (Though not really relevant to Tesla; thanks for posting the tip, Flasher).
     
  4. ggr

    ggr Roadster R80 537, SigS P85 29

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,485
    No issue with HTC OneX (PIN protected)
     
  5. FlasherZ

    FlasherZ Sig Model S + Sig Model X + Model 3 Resv

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    7,019
    Could be Samsung's special hacks - from what I'm reading, it is a problem with some Droids, Samsungs, and some other brands here/there. In my particular case, I use a pattern lock.
     
  6. steve841

    steve841 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,398
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    I also have a Note 2.... No issues since a re-pair and reboot of center display.
     
  7. brianman

    brianman Burrito Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    15,487
    My phone paired fine. Samsung Focus with PIN. PIN not needed for operation (via Model S) after pairing.
     
  8. FlasherZ

    FlasherZ Sig Model S + Sig Model X + Model 3 Resv

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    7,019
    Just to confirm, the easiest way to test this is to walk to the car with your locked phone -- don't unlock it. Get in the car, attempt to make a phone call. If it works, you're fine. If it doesn't, you likely suffer from this problem. Maybe it's just Android ICS pattern lock, I don't know...
     
  9. kevincwelch

    kevincwelch Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    2,017
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    Didn't yours come with Jelly Bean?
     
  10. FlasherZ

    FlasherZ Sig Model S + Sig Model X + Model 3 Resv

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    7,019
    Nope, and it still doesn't have it. AT&T model came with ICS and will get JB soon.
     

Share This Page