TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Tipping your ceramic coat installer?

Discussion in 'Model 3: Interior & Exterior' started by tagpats, Apr 4, 2018.

1. tagpats

tagpats Member

My car is getting paint correction, a front wrap and ceramic coated. My detailer is a one man operation, but I believe has one assistant that works with him. I don’t know whether he is helping on my job or not. I tend to tip for most service related things, but this is my first time having this kind of work done and don’t know what is customary. I’m inclined to give something to at least help out the assistant, but don’t want to offend the owner/detailer who set the price for the job.

2. ufbilly

ufbilly New Member

I just recieved my model 3 and am looking to do the exact same thing to her. How much are you paying if you don't mind me asking?

3. rhaekar

rhaekar Member

I don't tip and don't know anyone that has but if you want to I'm sure it's appreciated, especially at small shops. If you plan to go back it doesn't hurt either.

4. tagpats

tagpats Member

I’m paying $2750 for paint correction, protection on the full front including side mirrors and ceramic pro 9h on the whole car, including wheels. Prices are all over the place, so the most important thing is the quality of the shop doing the work. There are many variables, including the level and quality of paint correction, quality of products used and the experience of the installer. This can make it difficult to make an apples to apples comparison. Find a quality installer and just prepare to spend more than you’d like. It is labor intensive.