Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Tips on used/CPO MS for M3 holdover?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I'm thinking of getting a used Model S to hold me over until I can get a pimped out M3 (registered at 10:45am on 3/31 in person). I don't really care what trim/options the model S has. Lower cost is better, I assume. But I also want the highest resale value in 2 years. I'm a very low mileage driver and take great care of my cars. I first thought about getting a new MS, but the depreciation in the first 2 years is dreadful. So I figured get one used, and suffer a lot less depreciation. Is a $10K depreciation for 2 years of a used MS in the realm of reason?

I know about the ev-cpo web site, but are there any tips on getting a 'good' Model S that will maintain as much resale value as possible? I'm thinking a more popular model would sell better than bare bones with lots of miles. Should I get a more expensive (80s) MS, so when it comes time to sell it doesn't overlap with the M3 pricing?

Basically looking for the cheapest way to jump the M3 queue. Private sale or CPO?

Bump. Any thoughts here? I have a concern about buying a pre-AP CPO, and the resale value in 2 years when the M3 comes out. All M3s will get AP and a good amount of MS will have AP hardware even if not enabled. With CA sales tax tax and even depreciation on a used car, I'm not sure getting an interim MS is worth it. Great car don't get me wrong, but would probably be more prudent to put the money towards upgrades on a M3.