TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Tire Monitor Problem

Discussion in 'Roadster' started by Pantera Dude, Mar 9, 2013.

  1. Pantera Dude

    Pantera Dude Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Messages:
    468
    Location:
    Long Beach, California
    I'm getting a "Tire Pressure Monitor Service Required" warning, have others had this problem? The tire pressures are good according to the screen and a tire gauge. The tires have been on the car for at least 5 or 6 months. I did plug one of the tires a couple months ago but the problem just started today.
     
  2. Doug_G

    Doug_G Lead Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    15,851
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    Frequent problem with the Roadster. Probably have to get a TPMS sensor reset done by a Ranger. Or buy the tool.
     
  3. wiztecy

    wiztecy Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,720
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, California, United States
    The 1.5 Roadsters have a more robust TPMS sensor / system than the 2.x, the 1.5's I've heard from Tesla have very little issues with this. Curious what's triggering it.
     
  4. jory

    jory Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    223
    Location:
    san francisco
    i have to get my 2.0 roadster serviced approximately once a month to deal with intermittent TPMS errors. very frustrating.

    i have been told by a knowledgeable tesla employee that there are no problems with the 1.5 TPMS systems.

    (apparently the earlier models have the race version of the TPMS system which was then swapped for the consumer (or mass production) version in the later ones.)

    anyone know if it is possible to retrofit the 1.5 roadster TPMS system to a later roadster?
     
  5. augkuo

    augkuo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    549
    Location:
    Berkeley
    Mine will go off once in awhile and then go away - it's always complaining that the TPMS needs servicing.

     
  6. Pantera Dude

    Pantera Dude Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Messages:
    468
    Location:
    Long Beach, California
    Unfortunately my car is a 1.5, vin #107. The monitors are nice if they work, but otherwise they seem to be more trouble than they are worth. Is there a way to disable the system?
     
  7. Doug_G

    Doug_G Lead Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    15,851
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    I do believe they are now mandated by law.
     
  8. wiztecy

    wiztecy Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,720
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, California, United States
    I have a 1.5 and never had any issue with my TPMS. I suspect there's something else going on. I'd double check the pickups and if you had any tires changed out, possibly the sensor in the rim got damaged by the tire changer.
     
  9. jory

    jory Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    223
    Location:
    san francisco
    tesla has replaced sensors and antennas multiple times on my 2.0.

    the TPMS system on the 1.5 is different than that used on the 2.0/2.5. the 1.5 TPMS is (generally reported to be) reliable. the 2.0/2.5 is not. they are both built by the same company.
     
  10. Pantera Dude

    Pantera Dude Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Messages:
    468
    Location:
    Long Beach, California
    Can any tire shop reset the warning lights or does it take a special Tesla tool?
     
  11. Doug_G

    Doug_G Lead Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    15,851
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    It's a Tesla proprietary tool. They do sell them, but otherwise you have to get a Ranger to reset them.
     
  12. markwj

    markwj Moderator, Asia Pacific

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    3,661
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    I (like most others with 2.x cars) have had problems with TPMS twice in the past. Both times the rangers swapped the rear antenna (the last time, I could even clearly see this using OVMS - the front sensors were showing but rear were blank). It has been trouble-free for about a year now, so I would say it is resolvable.
     
  13. 172

    172 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    The TPMS on 1.5 is not manufactured by the same company as that on the 2.0 and 2.5 vehicles. The TPMS on 1.5 does seem to be highly reliable, whereas that on 2.0/2.5 appears not to be.

    I also believe that the TPMS on 1.5 provides you with readings from the moment the car's ignition is switched on, whereas the later TPMS relies on the car driving. The earlier system also allowed you to swap wheels around and fit new sensors, without the need to take it to a service centre, as it would auto detect these changes and deal with it.
     
  14. jordanthompson

    jordanthompson 2010 2.0 Sport, VIN 0683

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    512
    Location:
    Satellite Beach, FL
    Is there any way to disable the TPMS?
     
  15. mg012

    mg012 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2012
    Messages:
    107
    Location:
    San Antonio, Tx
    I recently had service done on my 2.0 roadster that required the removal of all of my wheels from the car. Since then my OVMS screen is showing correct pressures but weird temperatures. At first all of them were around 87-92 degrees even when it showed the ambient temp to be 67 and PEM, motor, and battery in the 67-70 range. Yesterday one of the tires now shows 50 degrees while the other three are still at 87-90 degrees, (ambient is currently 64). Any thoughts about what is going on here? I'm pretty sure the OVMS is just reporting what the computer thinks is going on.
    thanks
    michael
     
  16. Doug_G

    Doug_G Lead Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    15,851
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    They're legally mandated these days.
     
  17. jordanthompson

    jordanthompson 2010 2.0 Sport, VIN 0683

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    512
    Location:
    Satellite Beach, FL
    Is there any way to illegally disable them?
     
  18. Doug_G

    Doug_G Lead Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    15,851
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    You'd probably have to hack the firmware. Easiest approach is to learn to ignore "BRAP BRAP BRAP".
     

Share This Page