TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Tire Pressure Low - Check Tire Pressures x3 <- 3 tires?

Discussion in 'Model X: User Interface' started by scottf200, Mar 3, 2016.

  1. scottf200

    scottf200 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2013
    Messages:
    1,271
    Location:
    Chicagoland ModelX S603
    #1 scottf200, Mar 3, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2016
    Got this message on my X. Door says 42 psi. My gauge checking showed them all either 40 or 40.5.
    [update] NOTE: I was just reading the manual and it says for towing the tires need to be set to 46 psi. [/update]

    Is this the same or a different format on the Model S?

    NOTE: the "... Pressures x3" which possibly means 3 tires.

    Image: http://i.imgur.com/6Imqih2.png
    6Imqih2.png
     
  2. apacheguy

    apacheguy Sig 255, VIN 320

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    3,709
    Location:
    So Cal
    The car status app should show data from each sensor, no?
     
  3. jerry33

    jerry33 S85 - VIN:P05130 - 3/2/13

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    12,753
    Location:
    Texas
    Use the vehicle placard pressure as the minimum you never want to normally be below. It's odd that yours alerted that early--I wish mine would do that.
     
  4. scottf200

    scottf200 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2013
    Messages:
    1,271
    Location:
    Chicagoland ModelX S603
    I've only had the X for a day. I know my Volt's tire pressures vary a lot (3-4 psi swings) depending on temp and driving.

    The Android Tesla App I'm using doesn't show individual tire pressures that I'm aware of.
    Pictures here: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.teslamotors.tesla&hl=en
     
  5. apacheguy

    apacheguy Sig 255, VIN 320

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    3,709
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ah, I see. No, this would be in car functionality and I believe it pops up on the IC by default when a door is opened. At least that's my understanding of how it works on newer Model S.
     
  6. scottf200

    scottf200 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2013
    Messages:
    1,271
    Location:
    Chicagoland ModelX S603
    My Volt's RemoteLink (OnStar) Android app shows me the individual tire pressures.
    Image: http://i.imgur.com/kbJ2Izf.png
    kbJ2Izf.png

    On the X's driver info console I did display the TPMS display and it showed "-- psi" for the 2 fronts and left rear. Right rear area was blank. "--" goes away when you drive in a few minutes I think. (Which is also odd to me. The Volt's shows all the time and adjust when I am adding air in my garage).

    Found this Model S display which seems to show which tire (if only one?)
    Image: http://i.imgur.com/JTMGXM8.png
    JTMGXM8.png
     
  7. FlasherZ

    FlasherZ Sig Model S + Sig Model X + Model 3 Resv

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    7,019
    TPMS sensors work based on tire pressure changes. You have to drive the car for a couple of minutes to change the pressure, that in turn triggers the sensor to broadcast an update.

    The Chevy's control modules caches the tire pressure information, and the diagnostic reports Onstar sends via e-mail contain the last known pressure values (it says last known values).

    Tesla doesn't appear to cache it, so you'll get "--" until you drive enough to cause a pressure change.
     

Share This Page