TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Tire Pressure Monitor

Discussion in 'Technical' started by CantaMia Ron, Dec 4, 2013.

  1. CantaMia Ron

    CantaMia Ron Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    United States
    #1 CantaMia Ron, Dec 4, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2014
    How can the Tire Pressure in each Tire be Checked in the Software
    Through and Update or a setting on the control panel?
    This for the model S and it would be nice to see what each
    Tire pressure in LB's was. in the Model S.?
     
  2. jerry33

    jerry33 S85 - VIN:P05130 - 3/2/13

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    12,752
    Location:
    Texas
    At this point it can't. It's hoped that the pressure will display in some future update.
     
  3. brianman

    brianman Burrito Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    15,487
    The original post wasn't specific. I believe Jerry's response applies to Model S, but not Roadster.
     
  4. jerry33

    jerry33 S85 - VIN:P05130 - 3/2/13

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    12,752
    Location:
    Texas
    Right. I was indeed thinking of the Model S.
     
  5. N4HHE

    N4HHE Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    620
    Location:
    Madison, AL
    Those of us with a technical bent think the data is there for the TPMS to display tire pressure, possibly even tire temperatures. But for some reason Tesla, and many others, opt not to share that information with the driver.

    One problem in displaying the data is that one has to key the system so it knows which sensor is in which wheel. Not insurmountable, I have a $140 aftermarket Orange Electronics TPMS for my travel trailer which has button sequences to press to assign locations to wheels if rotated. Displays pressure and temperature.

    That the Model S is so heavily defined in software there is hope to add this feature in the future. Is my understanding version 5.8 has added the ability to register new TPMS sensors without a trip to a specialist. Most use this feature for winter wheels.
     
  6. EngineerMom

    EngineerMom Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    There absolutely is data! Here is a link to one such component that is used in cars - it takes pressure, temperature, and acceleration measurements and runs then through an 8-bit micro before sending to the wireless link. Even if Tesla is using a much lower-end chip, they almost assuredly have access to the data. I was very annoyed at not being able to look at the data when they tripped several times recently. I wonder if there is legislation preventing it. I don't think I've ever heard of a car that does anything other than flash that annoying light.

    Keep hoping for the SDK!

    Tire Pressure Monitoring System (TPMS)
     
  7. tga

    tga Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    2,196
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    A trivial problem, already solved years ago by GM. Surely the smart engineers at Tesla can do this. On my '09 Chevy pickup, you sync up the sensors as follows:

    1. Turn the key to run without starting the car.
    2. Press and hold both lock and unlock buttons simultaneously for ~ 5 seconds until the horn beeps and the display says "calibrate tire sensors" or something to that effect. You now have 5 min to finish the process (max 2 min/wheel).
    3. Start at the driver's front tire. Bleed off air or add air for several seconds until the horn beeps. You have now told the TPMS which sensor is on the driver front tire.
    4. Work clockwise around the car, repeating the process (pass front, pass rear, driver rear).
    5. After the final tire, the horn beeps twice and the system exits the calibration mode.
    6. Finally, go back and adjust tire pressures as needed.
    I had to do this yesterday after the local tire shop patched a tire and rotated them, but forgot to reset the sensors.
     
  8. ElectricLove

    ElectricLove Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2013
    Messages:
    365
    My Volt also gives exact psi readings while driving, nice to know if you are a hyper miler who changes the pressures often as needed for different driving styles.
     
  9. LoL Rick

    LoL Rick Like Buttah

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Messages:
    417
    Location:
    Land O Lakes, FL
    My 2005 Jeep Liberty showed the individual pressures in the overhead display with no special procedure required for calibration. So it must not be rocket science.
     
  10. gavine

    gavine Petrol Head turned EV Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1,007
    Location:
    Southern New Jersey
    I was trying to find this on the screen the other day and I'm surprised it's not there. I even looked in the manual. It would be nice to have that info available.
     

Share This Page