TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Tire pressure monitoring

Discussion in 'Roadster: Technical' started by Alan, Sep 20, 2010.

  1. Alan

    Alan Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    248
    Location:
    UK
    Hi All,

    Been lurking here for a while, but as I now have a Signature 250 sitting in my drive I thought I had better register.

    A quick question - is it possible to display the actual tire (we spell it tyre over here) pressures. The monitor on my car shows a picture of the car but with no numbers.

    Under setup I can choose from 2 different pressure settings, but unless I am being stupid (highly probable) or there is something wrong I can not see how to display the actual pressures.

    Thanks
    Alan
     
  2. Doug_G

    Doug_G Lead Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    15,664
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    Turn the car on and wait.
     
  3. DRM

    DRM Roadster #619

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    San Diego, California, United States
    It actually takes quite a while to get tire pressure readings. At the end of your drive, before turning off the car, check the readings. All 4 tires come up at different times. In my case, one of the tires never showed a result and the sensor needed to be reset. Apparently this is fairly common.
     
  4. stenkb

    stenkb Roadster 938 Model S 5957

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    202
    Location:
    Lethbridge, Alberta
    I've had alot of problems with this as well - have had me sensors reset twice - and used to get tire pressure system warnings come up everytime I drove. After my last visit from the "TESLA RANGER" hehe.....been working good again.

    And yes takes forever to load tire pressures.....
     
  5. Alan

    Alan Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    248
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks Guys!

    I have it sorted now. I can only access the information icon when stationary (at least that seems to be the case on my car) yet the tire monitoring only works after driving a bit. The trick seems to be to select tire monitoring before driving off, the temp and pressures pop up after a while.

    One day I must must stop having fun driving the car and find some time to read the manual :)

    Alan

    PS Note to mods - this is the second time I have tried to post a reply. If thats because I am a new user and have to have post approved first, please delete the one with the most spelling / grammar errors!
     
  6. cinergi

    cinergi Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,164
    Location:
    MA
    I don't yet own a Roadster, but based on my past experiences with TPMS, this makes sense. Driving around would make the numbers register MUCH more quickly. Sitting stationary would eventually work but took forever.
     
  7. SByer

    SByer '08 #383

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,068
    Location:
    Cupertino, CA
    Huh. I'm usually only to the end of the driveway before I remember I hadn't checked that week, stopping, putting on the parking brake, and they seem to already have measured by then. If I remember when I'm in the garage, I usually have a result within about 5 seconds.

    I like to keep mine at 32/42. Autosport has a great dual-filling chuck that can fill two tires at once, keeping them at the same pressure.
     
  8. DaveD

    DaveD 2008 Roadster #181

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    476
    Location:
    Redmond, WA
    I've had my Roadster for 19 months, and it's been my habit since day one to check the tire pressure every morning before I leave the garage (pressure readings are supposed to be taken before they warm up from driving). The TPMS display has never failed to show me the pressure readings within 10 seconds after turning on the car.
     
  9. 172

    172 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Sounds like your car is fitted with one of the early Tyre Pressure Monitoring Systems that was able to identify all the tyre pressures as soon as the ignition was switched on.

    Sounds like your car may not be fitted with the original TPMS, and has the replacement one (not from the original supplier). With the original system there was no need to "reset" sensors.
     
  10. S-2000 Roadster

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    635
    That sounds like a great accessory. I assume it allows you to equalize the pressure between two tires if one is over and one is under. Also, is it long enough to connect to two wheels while they're on the car (on opposite sides)?
     
  11. SByer

    SByer '08 #383

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,068
    Location:
    Cupertino, CA
    Yup, indeed. The hose on one side is short, the other is plenty long to get to the other side of the car. The hoses have quick releases on the end, which is nice and convenient - it's pretty much push them on, fill the tires, pop them off.

    Unfortunately, I can't seem to find it online anymore.
     
  12. speedy99

    speedy99 2.5 Roadster

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    Location:
    San Jose, California
    Driving a few revolutions of the wheels will usually 'wake up' the sensors. Getting the pressures to display requires the parking brake to be engaged for me on a 2.5, not just stopped. Guess someone in legal thought it would be too distracting to display them while driving...
     
  13. dsm363

    dsm363 Roadster + Sig Model S

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    18,220
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    You can actually drive with the screen but you're correct in that you need to be parked with the parking brake on to access the screen. You just don't hit exit on the tire screen/VDS, let off the parking break hit D and go. The tire pressure screen will stay there.
     
  14. W.Petefish

    W.Petefish Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    1,059
    Location:
    North Texas (DFW)
    I'll see if I can make one then. Then parts list would be posted and instructions made.
     
  15. daniel

    daniel Active Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,131
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    Although the parking brake has to be on to access the tire pressure screen, the system will give a warning even while driving. One morning I was a block from home when it went "BONG" at me, and the little screen displayed "Tire pressure low," or something to that effect. I had to pull over and put the brake on to get to the screen and see which tire it was. They were all low, but only one was below the warning threshold. I had been driving at the "comfort" setting, which is already closer to low.

    Since then I've been using the "recommended" (higher) pressure and checking regularly, and I do not notice any difference in comfort.

    It's nice that it will give a warning.
     
  16. hcsharp

    hcsharp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    2,429
    Location:
    Vermont
    Does anybody know where to buy the sensors used on the Roadster? I 'd like to get another set now that I have 2 sets of wheels. I realize Tesla will have to program for the new serial numbers. I just don't want to pay over $1,000 to Tesla when I could probably get the same parts for a lot less.
     
  17. Dragon

    Dragon Lightning Green Fairytale

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    450
    Location:
    Italy
    I don't think they'd charge 1000$ for them? Did you ask for the price?
     
  18. hcsharp

    hcsharp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    2,429
    Location:
    Vermont
    I don't remember the exact price but it was over $1,000 just for the sensors, no labor.
     
  19. driver_EV

    driver_EV Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    146
    Location:
    Charleston, South Carolina
    I think TireRack.com sells replacement sensors with the wheels. they may have a better deal for tire sensors. It may be worth a call if you need replacements.
     
  20. markwj

    markwj Moderator, Asia Pacific

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    3,488
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Is this new? Tesla now selling the tpms reset tool:

    Roadster Tire Pressure Monitoring System Tesla Motors

     

Share This Page