Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Total Newbie Question - Supercharging!

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Welcome :)

it uses the card in your Tesla.com account, if you paid a deposit for the car that card is stored

then just drive in (reverse) and plug in the top/bigger cable. You may need to lift it up-then-out to release the catch.

That’s it.

If you leave the car check the app to tell you when it’s nearly finished. It’ll send a notification 10 mins before it’s finished.
Don’t leave the car plugged in for more than 5 mins once it’s finished or you’ll get idle fees of 70p/minute

on some busy places it will initially reduce any target SoC above 80% to 80%, but you can override if you wish.

Reactions: Roy W.
When planning to Supercharge you press the button at the bottom left of the screen with the lightning bolt. Then choose which Supercharger you are going to.
This ensures that the battery is heated for the fastest charge, it will still charge if you don't.
When you arrive, just plug in using the plug with the corresponding pins that are below the Type 2 socket. They are combined.

The car will be recognised and you will be billed to the card on your account.

Simples.

Top tip; the superchargers are numbered 1a, 1b, 2a, 2b, 3a, 3c etc. The numbers share a power source, so it’s always best to park at a number where there is no other cars charging. Eg if someone is parking on 3a it’s best to skip 3b and move to 4a (assuming 4b is free!).

just a little Tesla etiquette and also maximises the charge / reduces the waiting time as you get the maximum charge from the supercharger.

Reactions: CMc1 and Rustybkts
In my experience bumping into newbs at Superchargers there are two issues they have:

1. Getting the cable out of the charger sometimes requires a lot of wiggling and pulling.

2. When plugging into your car, make sure it is pushed in all the way firmly!