TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

TPMS Failures and Cost

Discussion in 'Roadster: Technical' started by jbadger, Jan 17, 2014.

  1. jbadger

    jbadger Roadster #506

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    272
    Location:
    San Jose, California, United States
    I've seen a number of people lately saying they have had problems with their TPMS. I've had the error message come up for many months now and finally got in to the service center. After a $200 diagnostic, it turns out that the battery died on three of the four sensors. It's going to cost $1053.25 to replace all four sensors including parts, labor and the diagnostic fee.

    For legal requirements they are unable to disable the warning message per NHTSA 2005-20586. So we are either stuck with a large bill or have to hear the annoying alert every time we drive our cars.

    Seems kind of crazy that after four years we'd have to pay 1k for dead sensor batteries. Does anyone know if this pricing matches other vehicles out there?
     
  2. bart513

    bart513 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Messages:
    979
    Location:
    East Hampton
  3. sethr

    sethr CPO Roadster #1089

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    Messages:
    152
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    I'm about to go to my service center (in Rockville, MD) because one of my TPMS sensors is bad, according to the data I pulled and sent in. (I've been getting error message 409, which doesn't tell you which one is bad. One down, and none of the tires show up. They had to look at the logs to see that it was the one sensor.) Luckily, I have a CPO, so it's warranty work this time, but I asked what the price was on the other sensors, since I was thinking it's probably a bad battery on mine (fails only in the cold) and was considering replacing all of them now on the theory that if one battery is bad, the others will go soon. I was told that the sensor itself is $94, and $127 installed. I was also told that it's a sealed unit, and they cannot just check the battery, or replace just the batteries on the other sensors. Since I have almost 30 months left on my CPO warranty, I'll be waiting to see how the other sensors do, but still, I just don't see how your bill got so high - assuming they gave me a correct quote: 4 times $127 is $508, plus your $200 diagnostic fee comes to $708, how did they get to $1053? I have a 2010 non-sport 2.5, do you have different, more expensive sensors than mine? That's the only reason I can think of....
     
  4. jbadger

    jbadger Roadster #506

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    272
    Location:
    San Jose, California, United States
    I'm also a little upset that they had to charge a $200 diagnostic to find the issue when I believe it should have easily been found in the logs.
     
  5. jordanthompson

    jordanthompson 2010 2.0 Sport, VIN 0683

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    512
    Location:
    Satellite Beach, FL
  6. Fluke

    Fluke Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    Messages:
    641
    Location:
    Stilwell, KS
    Did the aftermarket TPMS sensors work out for you with your 2.X Roadster? I checked the referenced vendor website from the other thread and 2010 is the first year of Tesla compatible TPMS sensors they carry, so it looks like they would not work for the 1.5 Roadsters.
     
  7. jordanthompson

    jordanthompson 2010 2.0 Sport, VIN 0683

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    512
    Location:
    Satellite Beach, FL
    Sorry - I didn't realize yours was a 1.5: from what I have read, there is a difference (the 1.5's are better!)
    Actually, I haven't reset the TPMS with the new sensors because I haven't been by the store to have it done:rolleyes:. I am also surprised that they charged that much to tell you the sensors were bad!
     
  8. Fluke

    Fluke Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    Messages:
    641
    Location:
    Stilwell, KS
    Was not my car from the original post. I will likely need to have mine reset after some wheel work and saw the other post indicating a difference between 1.5 and 2.x. Hopefully mine won't have issues.
     

Share This Page