TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

TPMS - Low Pressure - Why Not Tell Us Which Tire?

Discussion in 'Model S: Driving Dynamics' started by Michael M., Jan 21, 2015.

  1. Michael M.

    Michael M. Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    The TPMS warning came on when I was stuck in traffic and then when I was able to get somewhere to park and look at my tires, I could not see that any of them were actually "flat" so I decided to go to the Service Center and have my first tire rotation. I figured that the guys at the SC would rotate my tires, add some air and I would be good to go. So I apparently ran over a small nail somewhere around 7,700 miles. This caused a slow leak. It was far enough from the sidewall that it could be patched, but the SC doesn't patch tires. Took care of that later in the afternoon at a regular tire store, no problem.

    My bigger issue is (after my V6.1 Software has installed), I realized that the TPMS was telling me that my tire pressure was low and that I need to "check tire pressure" but it did not tell me which tire was low. WHY THE HELL NOT! If the system can detect that a tire is low, why not tell me which one it is. I don't carry a tire gauge in my car, so how the hell am I supposed to pull over and check my pressure. I have the emergency tire repair kit, but who wants to use that.

    This seems like a simple fix, anyone know how to get this question to Tesla and/or why it can't be included in the next software "upgrade?" Just saying.:wink:
     
  2. CanuckS#69

    CanuckS#69 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    175
    Location:
    Sutton West, ON
    If you used the TPMS reset on the car, it doesn't know which sensor is in which location. Service Centres can assign sensors to corners, but I don't know if they do so as standard practice.
     
  3. dsm363

    dsm363 Roadster + Sig Model S

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    18,235
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    They did this with the Roadster. My guess it's one of the software updates that is still on the back burner. Hope they add it at some point.
     
  4. vdiv

    vdiv Chief Grump

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Messages:
    233
    Location:
    Reston, VA
    The Model S does not indicate the tire pressure of each tire like the Volt does?
     
  5. JohnQ

    JohnQ Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,585
    Location:
    Redding, CT
    First, you're right, they should show individual tire pressures.
    Secondly, carry a pressure gage in the car. While the spring/slider ones are not very accurate they are cheap and will show you which tire is low.
     
  6. swengl

    swengl Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Messages:
    236
    Location:
    Lynchburg, VA
    Also, since the Model S doesn't come with a spare tire, it's a very good idea to have a small air compressor and a bottle of Fix-a-Flat in the vehicle. ;)

    I agree though, it would be nice to know the pressure in the tires at any given time. It came in real handy on our '13 Highlander recently.
     
  7. P15r

    P15r New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    You probably don't want to store an aerosol bottle of fix-a-flat (or whatever) in your car. The Fix-a-flat user manual specifically warns against storing the aerosol can at temperatures above 120F. Google "fix a flat exploded in my car" to read some stories.

    A safer solution is something like the Tesla Tire repair kit, which does not store the gooey stuff under pressure. Slime sells a similar kit.
     
  8. ecarfan

    ecarfan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    Messages:
    10,354
    Location:
    San Mateo, CA
    The S not showing individual tire pressures is a longstanding complaint, and a valid one. The Roadster shows individual pressures. Why Tesla decided not to offer that capability in the S is a mystery to me.
     
  9. 1TROYD23

    1TROYD23 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    San Jose, Ca
    TPMS Reading

    So ,we have had our Model S since November of 2014. I know the car comes with a TPMS sytem, but is it true that it doesn't display the individual tire pressure readings for each tire ? If it does, can anyone help me figure out how to look it up ? I mean every car out there now has TPMS system were it tells you the pressure for all four tires individually. Thanks !! Troy
     
  10. MassModel3

    MassModel3 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Messages:
    903
    Location:
    MA South Shore
    Nope. No way to see individual tire pressures. You just get a good (no light) or bad (light on) indication.

    You don't even get told which tire is bad!
     
  11. CliffG

    CliffG Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    245
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Now this is getting odd (go figure).

    (Note: I have not received 6.1 yet and can only read tea leaves here...)

    Over in another thread (TPMS Goes Rogue), another owner has claimed exactly the opposite. It's looking like it may be the newer Continental TPMSs, combined with the updated firmware.
     
  12. tezzla

    tezzla Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Messages:
    545
    Location:
    SoCal
    Somebody said their car (on v6.1) showed which tire was low on the error message. But, he didn't produce a picture.
     
  13. Michael M.

    Michael M. Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Nope. I already had the update when I posted this. It doesn't show it.
     
  14. Vitaman

    Vitaman Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    Messages:
    331
    Location:
    Decatur, GA
    That somebody was me.
    In the case of a problem it does pinpoint the tire in question.
    But that is a far cry from the BMW i3 and many other cars that can show you with a button touch the precise pressure of all 4 tires at any time.
     
  15. Michael M.

    Michael M. Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    It could pinpoint the tire that is low BUT IT DOES NOT. that's the problem.
     
  16. Vitaman

    Vitaman Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    Messages:
    331
    Location:
    Decatur, GA
    A message popped up that specifically did say rear right tire is low on the way to the Service Center.
     
  17. Michael M.

    Michael M. Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #17 Michael M., Jan 23, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2015
    Vitaman, do you have an S or a Roadster. If an S, when delivered? Mine is pre-autopilot and it only told me to check tire pressure but did not identify which one. Hence this post.
     
  18. 1TROYD23

    1TROYD23 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    San Jose, Ca
    Yeah , after reading some of the other posts, it is a real shame a $90,000 car does not show individual tire pressures. What a joke, my son's Kia sure does.... I hope a future software update fixes the issue !!!
     
  19. lsnetman

    lsnetman Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2014
    Messages:
    93
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    I have 21", which wear much better when properly inflated. I'd suggest the FoBoTire solution. It's a Bluetooth based pressure and temperature monitoring system with an iPhone or Anroid app. Check it out.
     
  20. AmpedRealtor

    AmpedRealtor Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    4,701
    Location:
    Buckeye, AZ
    Look at his signature. P85D.
     

Share This Page