TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

TPMS retrofit for older Model S

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by gutowskia, Oct 29, 2016.

  1. gutowskia

    gutowskia Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Orangeburg, NY
    Not by choice. I was getting the "Pressure Monitoring System needs Service" error. Service center rep stated that the main unit needed to be replaced. Technician removed the older type Baolong brand unit and replaced with newer Continental brand, along with 4 new tire sensors. I now get to see the tire pressure of each wheel displayed on my dashboard. This is on the 2012 Model S P85...

    IMG_2269.jpg
     
    • Like x 4
    • Informative x 1
    • Love x 1
  2. scottm

    scottm Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Messages:
    1,725
    Location:
    Canada
    This is great to know that
    A) it's possible to do, and is plug compatible
    B) software recognizes the newer style monitor and UI just adjusts

    How do you call up the pressure monitor 4 door view on the left side of IC?
    Or is it just always showing when parked? Disappears when you put car in gear?
     
  3. Merrill

    Merrill Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Messages:
    2,364
    Location:
    Sonoma, California
    I have a 2013 Model S and was told it was not upgradable.
     
    • Informative x 1
  4. Boourns

    Boourns Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2016
    Messages:
    891
    Location:
    Dallas
    Do all older cars have TPMS or was it an option with tech package? I don't have the tech package but have never seen anything about TPMS or tire pressure from my car. I have a 2012 mid-December build.
     
  5. gutowskia

    gutowskia Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Orangeburg, NY
    To display the pressure monitor, I use the spin dial on either left or right side and select "Car Status". I can see pressure reading going up as the car is moving and tires get warmer. When parked, after several minutes the pressure changes to "--". I assume while not moving, the sensors go to sleep to preserve the battery. Also, this tech upgraded my car to os v8.0.
     
  6. Akikiki

    Akikiki A'-Lo-HA ! y'all

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    2,219
    Location:
    Kaneohe
    Very cool. Thanks for sharing that it can be done.
     
  7. gutowskia

    gutowskia Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Orangeburg, NY
    All cars in US manufactured after 2007 are required to have TPMS system. The early Model S had the sensors but not the digital readout on IC. The newer continental brand TPMS started in September 2014 at VIN P50900.
     
    • Informative x 3
  8. artsci

    artsci Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,228
    Location:
    Timonium, Maryland
    Nonsense. My 2013 was upgraded about a year ago. But Tesla will do this only if your old system fails or functions erratically.
     
    • Informative x 1
    • Like x 1
  9. Jeeps17

    Jeeps17 Cath Jockey in a P85

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012
    Messages:
    940
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    I also have a 2013 S, and had the upgrade performed. Works as noted by the OP.

    You may want to inquire again (to a different service center if you get the same answer).
     
  10. Merrill

    Merrill Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Messages:
    2,364
    Location:
    Sonoma, California
    Thanks for the info I will inquire again and see what happens.
     
  11. AmpedRealtor

    AmpedRealtor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    5,315
    Location:
    Buckeye, AZ
    I had $300 of referral credit remaining and asked Tesla to perform this update to my 2013 vehicle. I was initially told that this is not an official retrofit, but that it was being done on a case-by-case basis as the sensors start failing in the older cars. After looking into it, local service ordered the various parts and I now have individual TPMS display on my 2013 car.

    @Merrill If your SVC gives you a hard time, tell them to contact Scottsdale, AZ service which has done this to multiple vehicles and without any issues. The total cost was $598 including tax.
     
  12. markn455

    markn455 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2016
    Messages:
    236
    Location:
    Ball Ground, GA
    OMG, I want this!
     
  13. shady

    shady Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    184
    Location:
    Morgan Hill, California
    I had the same warnings, and Santa Clara SC said they had to change everything (tire sensors, TPMS CPU, Antenna), and then told me it was impossible to install the components that gave individual readouts. Plus, I'm out of warranty, so I had to pay ~$800 for that.

    I really hate Santa Clara SC
     
  14. AmpedRealtor

    AmpedRealtor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    5,315
    Location:
    Buckeye, AZ
    @shady Tesla did not give you the correct information. I just had my 2013 Model S upgraded to individual TPMS readouts for a total of just under $600, tax included. That included all new TPMS sensors, two new receiver modules, and a new antenna, maybe some other stuff. You need to talk with a service advisor who is willing to do some research. This is NOT a retrofit item and will not show as an available retrofit. However, service can update the necessary components and enable the feature in the car's software. They just need to know how to do it.

    I was told that Tesla normally only performs this update if an older vehicle is having repeated TPMS issues, but not otherwise. I asked them to look into it for me and they gave me good news.

    I had mine done in Scottsdale, AZ. Maybe your service manager can call over there and find out how they did it.
     
  15. shady

    shady Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    184
    Location:
    Morgan Hill, California
    I doubt they will do anything now - this was a year ago.
     
  16. AmpedRealtor

    AmpedRealtor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    5,315
    Location:
    Buckeye, AZ
    I don't understand, what was a year ago? I had my TPMS upgraded just a couple of months ago.
     
  17. Benjamin Brooks

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    469
    Location:
    San Jose, California, United States
    Are you talking about Sunnyvale or Fremont? There is no Santa Clara service center (yet).
     
  18. apacheguy

    apacheguy S Sig #255

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    4,331
    Location:
    So Cal
    Wow, that's a great price. I paid over 200 just to have two of the sensors swapped out. They also replaced the ECU but did not mention it could be upgraded to the newer version.
     
  19. pimp-boy

    pimp-boy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    Messages:
    154
    Location:
    Los Gatos
    @Merrill Did you ever get a service center to upgrade your TPMS for a "nominal fee?" If so, which one in the bay area and which service advisor?
     
  20. Merrill

    Merrill Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Messages:
    2,364
    Location:
    Sonoma, California
    No I never did it, since we got the X we are driving it more so did not seem worth the effort.
     

Share This Page