TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Traction control with new tires

Discussion in 'Roadster' started by Mitrovic, Oct 24, 2011.

  1. Mitrovic

    Mitrovic Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    592
    Location:
    Bern, Switzerland
    I suppose the information is somewhere here, but it seems I can not find it. I have not found the information in the handbook either!
    So: I have put new tires at the back. Now I have heard that I have to make the traction control to "learn" the new tires.
    How do I do that, and why?

    Thank you
     
  2. Doug_G

    Doug_G Lead Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    15,850
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    Here's the info:

    attachment.php?attachmentid=3224&d=1319489992.jpg

    When you hit the New Tires button, it will disable regen and limit power. It will ask you to accelerate to a certain speed range and then coast in a straight line. When it's finished regen will kick back in, and away you go.

    Oh, and why? It's so it can learn the diameter of the tires.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. dhrivnak

    dhrivnak Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2,150
    Location:
    NE Tennessee
    Tire set up screen

    That is an interesting screen. I have a 1.5 version Roadster and that is not one of my options nor is GSM. I take it you have one of the newer 2.5 models.
     
  4. Doug_G

    Doug_G Lead Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    15,850
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    The function is only available on 2.0 and 2.5 cars.
     
  5. vfx

    vfx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    14,792
    Location:
    CA CA
    Grrrr!
     
  6. Mitrovic

    Mitrovic Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    592
    Location:
    Bern, Switzerland
    It worked! Thank you!
    But why do we have to do that? On my ICE cars with TC I do not have to do that.
    Now I have the problem that the tyre pression control does not work. Might be that the right and left wheel have been changed. So that the sensors have to be "teached". Can I do that or has it to be the Tesla Ranger? ( Or I can changer the wheels left - right )
     
  7. Doug_G

    Doug_G Lead Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    15,850
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    The TC in the Roadster is far more precise than that of most street cars. Try driving it on snow with summer performance tires, and you'll see what I mean. (I've tried it, but just as an experiment. It's amazing!)

    The pressure monitor shouldn't care what wheel it's on, except that it would display as being on the wrong wheel. Resyncing the transmitters requires a gadget, so either a Ranger has to do it, or you have to borrow the gadget.

    Hopefully the tire shop didn't damage the transmitters.

    Note that you probably can't just swap the wheels around, as tires typically used on the Roadster are directional. Best check the tire manufacturer's web site before you try that!
     
  8. Mitrovic

    Mitrovic Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    592
    Location:
    Bern, Switzerland
    Thanks! The Hancook's are not directional.
     
  9. samcarney

    samcarney Sam C

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Location:
    Great Lakes, Southern California
    If you have the optional 2.5 wheels they are directional.

    2.5 polished wheel.JPG
     
  10. tennis_trs

    tennis_trs 2010 2.0 Roadster Sport

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Messages:
    302
    From the link below:

    directional wheels

    It appears that although the wheels look like they should be directional, that Tesla doesn't consider them directional since Tesla has put them on in both of the different orientations.
     
  11. samcarney

    samcarney Sam C

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Location:
    Great Lakes, Southern California
    When my tires were replaced the Tesla Service mgr. told me he had to send the car back to the tire shop to re-mount the tires because the wheels are directional. IMO they don't look rightt when the slanted spokes are not oriented correctly.
     
  12. strider

    strider Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,918
    Location:
    NE Oklahoma
    Yes but it's purely cosmetic. The wheels themselves aren't directional (ie: there's no arrow on them to indicate direction of rotation). Tires however may be directional. Now for TPMS purposes a non-Tesla shop should take care to put the wheels back in the same place they found them (and alsonot to leave the key on with the wheels removed). Tesla charged me $100 to mount and balance tires that I supplied to them during my annual. TPMS and TC are working perfectly. I did go through the New Tires process but it seemed to be working fine prior to that (Though Tesla may have done it for me).
     
  13. Mitrovic

    Mitrovic Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    592
    Location:
    Bern, Switzerland
    Neither the wheels nor the tires on my car are directional.

    7b62a77e.jpg
     
  14. Dragon

    Dragon Lightning Green Fairytale

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    450
    Location:
    Italy
    Have changed to winter tires last week. The front tires are Pirelli 210 Snowsport (195/50), the rears Pirelli 240 Sottozero S2 (225/45). Had only AD07 until now and am missing the fast acceleration with them. The TC comes on every time when I accelerate or regenerate hard. Did the new tires calibration several times to make sure it didn't fail.
     
  15. ChargeIt!

    ChargeIt! Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    619
    Try adjusting the tire pressures, keeping the fronts near recommended, but lowering the rears a little. The T/C on acceleration probably will be impossible to fix until the tires are worn-in a little, but the pressure adjustment should take care of the T/C during regen problem.
     
  16. Dragon

    Dragon Lightning Green Fairytale

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    450
    Location:
    Italy
    Still have a lot of TC going on when accelerating. I am not sure if I did the new tire calibration well.
    It writes I should coast at 20-60 mph for 10 seconds.
    Well nothing happens after 10 seconds if I do that. What exactly do you have to do? My car takes from 30-45 seconds to stop the coasting and reactivating Regen. It's almost impossible to find a straight road with no cars on it in my region.
     
  17. Doug_G

    Doug_G Lead Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    15,850
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    Coasting isn't sufficient, you have to turn on the "Learn New Tires" function, then do the coasting thing. It will TELL you when it's done.
     
  18. Dragon

    Dragon Lightning Green Fairytale

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    450
    Location:
    Italy
    Huh? I did turn it on, that's why it deactivated Regen and TC. Never seen any message indicating that it's done, just the Regen and TC are kicking in again.
     
  19. Doug_G

    Doug_G Lead Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    15,850
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    Okay, I misunderstood. If you coasted in a straight line then it worked. If the TC is still giving you trouble with winter tires... well you're running on winter tires. Don't expect 3.7 seconds 0-60.
     
  20. Mitrovic

    Mitrovic Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    592
    Location:
    Bern, Switzerland
    Seems like you did it right. There was no msg at my car, it just kicked in with regen. ( Very different to drive the car without regen ).
    However you should not have TC coming on with the winter tires at these conditions...
     

Share This Page