Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Trim Levels VS Custom

Should Tesla create trim level or all custom?

• Yes—trim levels may make things easier

Votes: 15 57.7%
  • No—I want to build from scratch

Votes: 11 42.3%

• Total voters
This site may earn commission on affiliate links.

TrickyDimitri

Soon...very soon.
Apr 20, 2016
NC
I am far from an expert in production, but I was wondering what people are thinking about Tesla using popular configurations as trim levels instead of a full custom build by the 400k+ reservation holders? My guess is that most people will add options that will fall in a few standard groupings. Could this help them speed up production by forming production lines with each model when they start building? If somebody wants something specific outside of the trim levels, then they could custom order. Thoughts from the group?

I am thinking since this is suppose to be a mass production car, that the trim levels will be like most other car manufacturers. Two or three levels. Though Ala cart is great, it slows production. Custom orders should NOT be an option in my opinion. Reserve that for higher end MS or MX cars.

I voted yes to trim levels, but I think the answer should be both. Given the number of reservations, they should offer trim levels that people could select from, or allow custom builds but make the options a bit more expensive on the custom builds to make up for the production inefficiency. In production, they could then emphasize their production capacity on trim level cars while having limited capacity for a custom builds.

I have no experience in car manufacturing, so I don't know whether my suggestion has any real basis in reality. Just my conceptual idea for how it'd work.

from a mass production standpoint, and for all of us who want their cars sooner, the option should be "trim levels".