TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Trunk release button (on screen) not working

Discussion in 'Model 3: User Interface' started by Rockster, Apr 20, 2018.

  1. Rockster

    Rockster Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,775
    Location:
    McKinney, TX
    Car in park.
    Foot on brake.
    Press the button on the main display to open the trunk.
    Nothing happens.
    Passenger standing at back of car finally gives up and presses the physical trunk release to open the trunk.


    Anyone else seeing this behavior? Am I doing something wrong?
     
  2. Gwgan

    Gwgan Almost a wagon

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    2,723
    Location:
    Maine
    Not seeing this v. 14.13 Screen button pops the lock
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Rockster

    Rockster Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,775
    Location:
    McKinney, TX

    Hmmm. I was on the previous version. I just updated to 2018.14.13 about an hour ago. I'll check it out when I get in the car later and see if that fixed it.
     
  4. favo

    favo P3D+ owner

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,006
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    Do you mean you weren't in Park? Was the button greyed out?
     
  5. Rockster

    Rockster Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,775
    Location:
    McKinney, TX
    The car was in park.
     
  6. Rockster

    Rockster Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,775
    Location:
    McKinney, TX
    Ok, so with this latest software update it's working, kinda. In order to make the trunk and frunk buttons become active, I not only must put it in Park (not surprising) but I must also push the stalk button a second time, while the car is already in park. Only then do the trunk/frunk buttons become active. (And it's possible that this was the behavior before, only I didn't know that I had to push the stalk button a second time.)

    Is this normal?
     
  7. favo

    favo P3D+ owner

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,006
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    I seem to recall that the double press on Park stalk button is supposed to unlock the doors. I would think you should be able to unlock the trunk with the screen button without unlocking the doors, though.
     
  8. Gwgan

    Gwgan Almost a wagon

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    2,723
    Location:
    Maine
    In my earlier test the driver’s door was open so the car was already unlocked. Sorry about not being thorough. Checked again and trunk and frunk buttons are grayed out while the car is locked. Tapping the lock icon will also allow those ‘runk buttons to be active.
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC