TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

TSN 1050 on TuneIn

Discussion in 'Canada' started by Nikkin, Jul 4, 2018.

  1. Nikkin

    Nikkin Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    Ontario
    Hey all,

    Just wondering if anyone got TSN 1050 AM sports talk working on the TuneIn app on their car?

    I can search the station, and it comes up with the right icon and everything, but then i select it to play it says "Loading Error" and doesn't play.

    Fan 590 AM works fine so was wondering if others are having the same issue specific to 1050AM?
     
    • Informative x 1
  2. balzary

    balzary Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Toronto
    Haven't tried it on Tunein but you can get it from the HD Channel of CHUM 104.5. Same with newstalk on the 99.9 HD channel I believe
     
  3. realtycoon

    realtycoon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Messages:
    180
    Location:
    Toronto
    I haven't been able to get HD 104.5 working for the past week now. If it's for World Cup games, the Fox Sports World Cup in TuneIn works in Canada.
     
  4. rickcan

    rickcan Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Toronto
    The CHUM FM HD signal that also carries HD2 and HD3 (Newstalk 1010 and TSN 1050), was shut down about 10 days ago. These stations are not available on Tunein, only the iHeart radio app that is not available in the Model 3. I spoke to the program manager at Newstalk 1010 and he was not very happy about this and advised to call the program manger at CHUM FM. We left a message for her and no reply. You can try contacting her at Bell Media 416-384-8000. They are losing a lot of potential listeners for both stations.
     
  5. RiverBrick

    RiverBrick Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Messages:
    1,942
    Location:
    Québec
    I had no trouble listening to NHL matchs on TSN stations before last season. However, the same loading error as yours was the rule in 2017-2018.
     
  6. seanucks

    seanucks Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Vancouver
    I live in Vancouver and have similar issues with TSN 1040. Sometimes the HD signal gets to be a bit wonky depending on the area you're in and TuneIn doesn't work. Kind of annoying. Sportsnet radio works fine for Tune In but I don't want to be switching between phone, tune in and radio to try to get 1 channel to work.
     
  7. Ryengjoe

    Ryengjoe Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Toronto
    I noticed this as well and am very unhappy about it. Is there a reason for this, is it only temporary or is it permanent?
     
  8. Darthbenji

    Darthbenji Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2018
    Messages:
    331
    Location:
    Ontario
    So does anyone know how to get newstalk 1010 or TSN now?
     
  9. Ryengjoe

    Ryengjoe Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Toronto
    Probably the only way to get it now is to stream via bluetooth from the tunein app from your phone to the car.
     
  10. bpjod

    bpjod Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2016
    Messages:
    119
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    I have the same issue with TSN 1260 which is Edmonton's sports radio station. I've been meaning to ask here if anyone had a solution, but it sounds like all the TSN stations on Tune In have the same issue. I wonder if it's a TSN radio problem or a Tune In app on the car problem? TSN 1260 works great in my Tune In app on my iPhone as well as the Win 10 app on my PC.
     
  11. Blu-Ion

    Blu-Ion Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2018
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    Cumberland (Ottawa) Ontario
    I get TSN 1200 in Ottawa on 100.3 HD3 no problem along with News-talk CFRA on HD2
     
  12. yyzunderdog

    yyzunderdog Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Messages:
    79
    Location:
    Port Credit
    I submitted a question to Tesla support and gave them a link to this thread. The phone app works fine so I would imagine there is some bug in connecting to the stream in our car version of TuneIn.

    We need our hockey updates! :)
     
  13. bpjod

    bpjod Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2016
    Messages:
    119
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    Nice that you've got an FM alternative in Ottawa, but to the best of my knowledge there's no FM broadcast for the TSN station in Edmonton, so we need the Tune In app to work.
     
  14. realtycoon

    realtycoon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Messages:
    180
    Location:
    Toronto
    It seems like Tune In in our cars has a USA default location. I can get many American programs but not Canadian ones (hence the Fox World Cup Streams are working even though it's not supposed to work outside of USA).
     
  15. Bandit

    Bandit Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2018
    Messages:
    49
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I also sent a message to tesla and they told me doing a reset would fix it (obviosuly it doesn't.) I'm also disappointed that they shut down the HD radio on 104.5 in the GTA. The stations (Newstalk 1010 for me) work with the TuneIn app on my phone. When I got home tonight I decided to see if it works once the tesla has connected to my wifi. Low and behold it's fine. So at this time I think bell media is geofiltering listeners. I can't imagine why they'd want to do that though.
     
    • Informative x 1
  16. yyzunderdog

    yyzunderdog Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Messages:
    79
    Location:
    Port Credit
    #16 yyzunderdog, Jul 5, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2018
    That's a great data point!

    What LTE provider does the car go thru?

    I sent an email to 1050 here in toronto - maybe they can help!
     
  17. rickcan

    rickcan Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Toronto
    I'll try reaching the station engineer at CHUM FM again tomorrow regarding their HD signal. It was only up for a month so maybe there are some technical issues.
     
    • Like x 1
  18. AFGTA

    AFGTA Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Messages:
    45
    Location:
    Georgetown, Ontario
    What release of software do you have that allows you to use the wifi in the car?
     
  19. Bandit

    Bandit Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2018
    Messages:
    49
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    WiFi was enabled with 2018.24.1. Press the LTE icon while in range to configure it. I know this software hasn't made it to all cars yet, but it's not like I'm going to sit in my garage and listen!

    Given the finding that LTE connection is causing the issue it could also just be an issue on the Tesla side, rather than my initial thought around geofiltering. I've listened to Newstalk 1010 on TuneIn (on my phone) while travelling to the US before.
     
  20. Bandit

    Bandit Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2018
    Messages:
    49
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    The month they had it must have coincided with when I got the car. Having never used HD radio before I searched online and found press releases indicating Bell Media announced it back in July 2017. I thought they had been up since then.
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC