TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Type 2 to UK 3 Pin?

Discussion in 'Europe' started by umar, Jul 29, 2014.

  1. umar

    umar Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Where can I purchase a converter to convert a Type 2 (Tesla) lead to fit a standard 3 pin plug?

    My car will be sat at work for 10 to 12 hours most workdays, with only 25 miles or so to top up. There are 3 pin plug sockets dotted around in indoor car park.

    Tesla can sell me on, but it's over £300(!)
     
  2. widodh

    widodh Model S R231 EU

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    4,822
    Location:
    Middelburg, The Netherlands
    It's not a simple converter/plug since Type 2 has a communication protocol in it.

    £300 is a normal price for a mobile EVSE/Type 2 adapter. At Tesla it's called the UMC (Universal Mobile Connector).
     
  3. J1mbo

    J1mbo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    611
    Location:
    UK
    UMC is not available in the UK with a 3 pin plug (and the EU version is more expensive).

    You can use an i3 Type 2-3 pin adapter which is slightly cheaper than the Tesla cable. I have the Tesla cable.

    I tried it at work recently and managed to get 6 miles per hour - not enough for my 80 mile round trip. I also got into trouble with the site management, who put an immediate ban on EV charging onsite, because they are responsible for all the sockets (even one in a parking area dedicated to my company). Go figure... :-\
     
  4. umar

    umar Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the quick response. The "delivery consultant" at Tesla has added on the cost of the cable to my order, so I presume it will work. And J1mbo -I hope I don't get the same issue, but I will please ignorance if they do :)
     
  5. smac

    smac Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,121
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    I bought one of these:

    Portable Mode 2 EVSE Charger | NuWorld Energy

    I've had problems with it, as the units ampage selection gets the car confused with the latest software. I'm in touch with them to get a revised unit.

    If I were to do it again I'd go this route:

    Portable Mode 2 CEE Commando EVSE Charger | NuWorld Energy

    As a commando socket gives the option of going for 16A. To be more universal, you can buy a simple 13A 3 Pin plug to commando socket cheaply, and as long as you set the charger to 10A it would be fine.
     
  6. markwj

    markwj Moderator, Asia Pacific

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    3,661
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    The Tesla one is the 10A Mennekes original (blue colour). Looks good, and price is surprisingly good considering what Mennekes dealers try to charge.
     
  7. arg

    arg Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    741
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    Can you share any more about what goes wrong? There's lots of applications where externally-controlled charge current would be useful, so it would be good to know what limitations the car imposes.
     
  8. smac

    smac Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,121
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    I think it's in the handshake between the car and the charger.

    From memory:

    The charger needs to be plugged in to both the car and the mains before it enters an "initialisation phase", whilst in this mode the LEDs flash allowing you to cycle with a single button to select current. This delay happens every time it's powered on and confuses the Tesla, so it says "start charging", then falls back to "charging failed".
     
  9. arg

    arg Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    741
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    Thanks. That does sound like the EVSE's problem rather than the car's, as the EVSE can't detect the presence of a car without offering to charge, and if it then goes into an initialisation state when the car requests the charge, the car is likely to stop waiting.
     
  10. smac

    smac Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,121
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Yep that was my hunch... The unit is manufactured by a Dutch firm (Ratio) and I suspect uses something like a PIC internally.

    According to the UK supplier the manufacturer tested it with a model S in Holland when the first Model S's arrived there, however following my problems they have retested and confirmed it no longer works. So they need to flash the box to fix it for the latest Tesla cars, which are obviously more picky about the delays introduced during amperage selection on this unit.

    As mine has never worked I'm working with the supplier to get a new unit, and will let you know how it works when this arrives.
     
  11. nuWorld Energy

    nuWorld Energy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Hi Simon,

    How did you get on with the new Commando EVSE that we swapped over?

    Just so people are aware the issues have now been resolved and tested working on the latest Tesla software release.
     
  12. umar

    umar Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Just to update this thread. I got the one from Tesla and it looks very good. I can set it to 10 Amps. It charges at a measly 4mph - which is fine for topping up my daily commute trips. There is a public charger within 200 yards which charges at 20mph and I can use that if I need a faster charge.
     

Share This Page