TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Uh...Bug Report?

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by Todd Burch, Dec 11, 2014.

  1. Todd Burch

    Todd Burch Electron Pilot

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    4,734
    Location:
    Smithfield, VA
    So I tried out the bug report capability of voice recognition today, for the first time. My nav route was not correctly rendering, although the Navigon map was drawing correctly.

    First, I should preface this by saying that voice control works for me about 95% of the time. It's been very reliable.

    Anyway, I held down the voice button and said "Bug Report"...then followed with a 30 second description of the bug. When I let up...after the processing message, I received "Recording unclear".

    Ok. So maybe I didn't say it clearly.

    Again, I say "Bug Report..." And follow it with my 30 second description. Again, after processing I get "Recording Unclear".

    Ugh. OK. Maybe I'm supposed to just say "Bug Report", then describe the bug as a second step. So I say "Bug Report", let up on the button, and afer processing I get "Thanks for your feedback!"

    Ok. So now I've sent an empty bug report to Tesla. Clearly you're supposed to say it all at once (as I initially believed).

    So I try it one more time. "Bug report, [30 second description]."

    Processing.

    Recording Unclear.

    I've now spent 1.5 minutes describing the same bug over and over again with no success, even though other voice commands work almost all the time for me.

    All I could conclude is that Google Voice or Tesla has trouble dealing with longer voice messages. The whole process left me frustrated, wishing I could do a bug report on the bug reporting system.

    Has anyone had success with this? Maybe you just need your bug description to be fast and vague?
     
  2. DCWitt

    DCWitt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    Watseka, IL
    Had exactly the same experience last week. Finally had success by abbreviating the recording to about 10 seconds.
     
  3. DJung

    DJung Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    306
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    you can snap a screenshot of the dash by holding the lower right button on the steering wheel for about 5 seconds (no notification or indication that screenshot has been taken). Then you can send an email to Tesla and tell them what when it occurred and they can pull the screenshot and diagnose the problem.

    I can't even get voice to understand my contact names (non-typical names or foreign names)
     
  4. apacheguy

    apacheguy Sig 255, VIN 320

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    3,718
    Location:
    So Cal
    Yep. You need to make it snappy. 30 s is FAR too long, try 5 s max. It took me a while to figure that one out and I finally resorted to reporting a bug in the bug reporting system.
     
  5. andrewket

    andrewket 2014 S P85DL, 2016 X P90DL (soon 100)

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2012
    Messages:
    5,046
    This is what I had to do as well. It's buffering the entire thing and then trying to u/l it over 3G.
     
  6. woof

    woof Model S #P683 Blue 85 kWh

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,149
    What bug reporting system?
     
  7. NigelM

    NigelM Recovering Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    13,257
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL
    Ditto, except that mine was a couple months back.

    - - - Updated - - -

    It was included in "Additional Improvements" in the v6.0 release notes. Bottom of page 8 in the notes, find pics of it here.
     
  8. marchyman

    marchyman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Messages:
    37
    Location:
    San Mateo, Ca
    Bottom of the release notes for v6.0


    • New Feedback Voice Command: There is a new voice command to help you provide feedback. Say“Note”, “Report”, “Bug note”, or “Bug report” followed by your brief comments. The car will capture asnapshot of your system, including screenshots of the two displays. Tesla will review these notesperiodically and use them to continue improving Model S.
      To initiate a voice command, press and hold the upper right steering wheel button. Wait for the toneand then speak your command while continuing to hold the button down. Then release the buttonwhen you’re finished speaking.
     
  9. AnOutsider

    AnOutsider S532 # XS27

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    11,923
    I think woof meant what system did apacheguy resort to reporting in
     
  10. ZBB

    ZBB Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,419
    Location:
    Scottsdale
    I've had the center screen nav draw bug show up twice. First time was in Oct, and I forgot about the bug report feature and just rebooted the screen. But it showed up again earlier this week. I ended up filing 3 reports -- all successful.

    1) I just said bug report and though I'd be prompted for more info... But I just got the thanks for your feedback message.
    2) I said bug report with a short explanation of "nav not drawing route line" -- and it took.
    3) about 10 min later, I noticed that traffic wasn't updating on newer sections of the map, so I reported that also -- again similar short explanation and it also took.

    I rebooted once I got to the office and it's been fine since,,l

    perhaps a 30 second description is too long?
     
  11. apacheguy

    apacheguy Sig 255, VIN 320

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    3,718
    Location:
    So Cal
    Well, so my initial description of the traffic lines bug was about 30 s long. Then I got so frustrated saying it over and over that I finally said something like "Bug report - There is a bug in your bug reporting software." I then realized after that went right through that they needed to be quick and snappy.
     
  12. woof

    woof Model S #P683 Blue 85 kWh

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,149
    Exactly!

    Ah, so you used the bug reporting system to report a bug in the bug reporting system. Now it is clear! (And quite recursive).
     

Share This Page