Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Unable to decide model and options

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Newbie here. Please advise.

I m ready to order, but wondering if I should go with
  • S60 + supercharger
  • S85

Which is the preferred? My scenario requires a quick jump acceleration during morning traffic to reach workplace for emergencies. Which model works out best - is the 7.5K difference worth to get the S85 for improved performance? Also, with battery degradation of 70% over time, does the S60 get to only 140 miles per full charge?

Also, what are the popular options for most buyers. I am going with tech pkg for either model, but do folks get air suspension (now increased) and rear seats pkg too? Whats the most preferred or ordered options? Is there a poll for that?

Thanks,
K

The S85 is a more flexible vehicle when it comes to road trips, for sure. I don't think the performance difference should tip the scales, though. Pano roof gives you some extra headroom, especially in the rear.

Early data suggest battery degradation won't be as significant as projected: Roadster batteries appear headed for about 80% capacity at 100K miles; it's a good bet the S battery will do as well.

Thanks for the replies. Looks like S85 then.

How about the options and addons? The tech package looks like a must-have. Do others feel the same way?

We have no kids yet, but are planning in the next few years. The rear seats maybe a too much though - my only concern is that its factory installed. I guess in the future, the aftermarket installs are possible, if really needed.

How about the air suspension? Is it that necessary on day-to-day driving/parking? How much of a difference does it really make? I did not find it significantly higher/lower during the test drive. Plus it now costs more - Hate that they increased the price of it so arbitrarily!