TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Upgrade to MCU for hardware 1 cars?

Discussion in 'Australia' started by Dborn, Oct 6, 2019.

  1. Dborn

    Dborn Confirmed

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,631
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    There are reports from the States that say that upgrade to the central computer is available in restricted numbers. Does anyone have any info about this here in Oz?
     
  2. MP3Mike

    MP3Mike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    10,175
    Location:
    Oregon
    Any report of that I have seen has been false. (Unless you consider and upgrade from 3G to LTE an upgrade."
     
  3. Akikiki

    Akikiki A'-Lo-HA ! y'all

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    3,805
    Location:
    Kaneohe
    Stoaty | October 6, 2019
    I have a bubble forming in the top of my screen so went to Tesla service center West Los Angeles to get a quote for replacement (not now, when it gets really bad). I have 2013 model S 85 kwh with VIN around 16,000. They gave me the following quote:

    Replacement screen part - $2500 (they checked and said it included LTE and MCU2, but didn't include tax)
    Labor - $156

    Total with tax around $2900.

    MCU Retrofit Confirmed | Tesla
     
  4. aegidius

    aegidius Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2018
    Messages:
    249
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Upgrading the computer would be great, if I could get all the cameras as well :)
     
  5. tessiestraya

    tessiestraya Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2019
    Messages:
    84
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    This has been continuously asked since MCU2 came out.
    Theres been a few retrofits here and there but nothing fully confirmed and while some SC's say they can do it some outright say no and that it doesn't exist yet.

    Hopefully one day all those on MCU1 will be able to upgrade but its pretty much unknown at the moment.
    Theres a wide range of Teslas from the first off the line to the new 'Raven' and the sophistication of technology and wiring have vastly changed over the years. It might not even be possible to change on some vehicles although that would be a bit strange.

    I believe its been said that the Model 3 had been designed to be completely modular? Which was probably a very good design and engineering decision for the future tech.
     
  6. ShockOnT

    ShockOnT ⚡️⚡️⚡️⚡️⚡️

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2016
    Messages:
    3,042
    Location:
    Sydney
    I’d like an answer to this, since I’m having ongoing problems with connectivity in my 2016 Model S.
    The Artarmon service centre keeps telling me I should replace my MCU (at my own expense $4500). The car is less than three years old, but has 110,000km.
    I’m pretty sure they have to fix out of warranty under Australian Consumer Law but I don’t really have the stomach to fight it. If I could upgrade to MCU2 I might be able to stand just paying for it out of pocket.
     
  7. PJF000

    PJF000 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    613
    Location:
    Australia
    connectivity to wifi?
     
  8. ShockOnT

    ShockOnT ⚡️⚡️⚡️⚡️⚡️

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2016
    Messages:
    3,042
    Location:
    Sydney
    No, the car can download from wifi or 3G, but the app can’t see the car. In fact, the tech guys can’t see the car remotely either.
     
  9. PJF000

    PJF000 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    613
    Location:
    Australia
    ah ok. Then I have no answer for that.
     
  10. ShockOnT

    ShockOnT ⚡️⚡️⚡️⚡️⚡️

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2016
    Messages:
    3,042
    Location:
    Sydney
    Haha, nor does the service centre :)
     
  11. meloccom

    meloccom Moderator Aus/NZ

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,958
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    No answer but a clue.
    Don’t let the service guys tell you the MCU is not repairable. Mine was replaced in the last month of my 4 year warranty and whilst the ‘new’ one fixed the screen lines issue, whenever I went into a tunnel or lost Satellite coverage the map would spin continuously and lose its place. This meant I couldn’t use navigation as it would start giving random directions as it lost its mind. After 2 trips back to Alexandria it was repaired by replacing the “Gyro Board”. If there is nothing wrong with your MCU other than connectivity I don’t understand why they can’t replace the modem / WiFi board on yours. I would politely press them on the issue. I will be doing the same given that Telstra have announced the end date for 3G of 2024.
    Telstra Is Killing 3G
     
    • Helpful x 1
  12. ShockOnT

    ShockOnT ⚡️⚡️⚡️⚡️⚡️

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2016
    Messages:
    3,042
    Location:
    Sydney
    I took it for service again yesterday, and after pushing hard for a free repair they decided to refresh the firmware locally.
    This seems to have fixed it, although the technician who actually did the job seemed to imply the problem was simply that the car was not correctly logged into the Tesla VPN.
    The app now works, but with one weird exception. I can't use it to unlock the car. I can do anything else, honk the horn, vent and close the roof, turn on HVAC etc.
    When I go to unlock the car I get the usual "Are you sure?" prompt, when I click yes the icon changes to unlocked but the car is still locked. No flash of indicators, no extension of door handles, the door handles don't respond to pressing. The car is still locked.
    Weird.
     
  13. alloverx

    alloverx Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Messages:
    597
    Location:
    Seattle
    Guess its not sure you are sure.
     
  14. ARMARM

    ARMARM Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2018
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    Camden NSW Australia
    You're confusing the MCU with the AP/FSD computer. They're 2 separate units, and yes, it's been reported that there have been some AP/FSD computer upgrades.
    Apparently, according to Elon, Tesla are currently "working on" an MCU upgrade.
     
  15. ShockOnT

    ShockOnT ⚡️⚡️⚡️⚡️⚡️

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2016
    Messages:
    3,042
    Location:
    Sydney
    We've known eachother long enough that I'm sure it knows when I'm really sure.
     
  16. aegidius

    aegidius Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2018
    Messages:
    249
    Location:
    Brisbane
    From AP2 to >2? Or can they upgrade from AP1? Faintly hoping.
     
    • Funny x 2

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC