TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Upgrading home service to 600A

Discussion in 'North America' started by andrewket, Feb 19, 2016.

  1. andrewket

    andrewket 2014 S P85DL, 2016 X P90DL (soon 100)

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2012
    Messages:
    5,042
    Model S and a volt in the garage. Model X, solar, and an addition on the way = upgrade service from 400A to 600A.

    Not for the faint of heart.

    b23e3e76073d21c466af20ff4aa61d89.jpg
    690771f1cd8a2f7ba14810d498f9d953.jpg
    0d87b5d4e3fc3164a55e5a074bfdccad.jpg
    d1bda320a621fc15bcdf85b98a92c88f.jpg
     
  2. yobigd20

    yobigd20 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,793
    Location:
    Skaneateles, NY
    600A is overkill LOL. What made you think you need that much? Do you have a datacenter in your basement too?
     
  3. andrewket

    andrewket 2014 S P85DL, 2016 X P90DL (soon 100)

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2012
    Messages:
    5,042
    It's all based on load calculations. Dominion's TOU window for EVs is only 4 hours long. That means ~200A of EV charging, and I wanted room to add a 4th. Dominion is paying for almost all of it.
     
  4. techmaven

    techmaven Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,557
    I have 800 amp service. 600 originally, but since Dominion Power's Schedule EV service has a separate meter, I technically have 800 amps in panels. However, I suspect if I actually tried to draw that much at once, I would brown out the neighborhood. The reality is that I don't come even close and the power company budgets something like 35 kW per house in my neighborhood (if I remember properly). It was going to be expensive to hook up my HPWC in my garage anyways, so I asked Dominion Power to do 200 amp instead of 100 amp service for Schedule EV so that I could charge 2 X Tesla HPWC or 3x at reduced power.
     
  5. dhrivnak

    dhrivnak Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2,150
    Location:
    NE Tennessee
    Wow I have a 200 amp service with two plug in cars and solar. And our heating is with our all electric heat pump. I have yet to trip a breaker.
     
  6. electracity

    electracity Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015
    Messages:
    1,797
    Location:
    60606
    Wow.
    Did you consider load management?
     
  7. Branzo90D

    Branzo90D Salt and Pepper

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Messages:
    105
    Location:
    NorCal
    Wow again! I have 100 amp service and have a hot tub with electric heating and my Tesla P90D charging as well as two separate Solar City PV systems going into my box and have never blown a breaker either.

    Since the utility is paying for the installation, I guess I'd do it, too. :cool:
     
  8. bollar

    bollar Disgruntled Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    Messages:
    2,240
    Location:
    Southlake, TX
    I feel your pain. If I had to add another 100 amp HPWC, I'd need to upgrade as well.
     
  9. flankspeed8

    flankspeed8 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Messages:
    645
    Location:
    Vermillion, MN
    Fascinating! Can you give a ballpark of what this will cost? How did you convince D to get onboard?
     
  10. andrewket

    andrewket 2014 S P85DL, 2016 X P90DL (soon 100)

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2012
    Messages:
    5,042
    If you have the standard wiring, your EV meter is actually a sub meter of your primary. So you don't have 800A service.

    I'm about to have a commercial CT cabinet which is five feet wide on the side of my house. The regular meter will be gone.
     
  11. andrewket

    andrewket 2014 S P85DL, 2016 X P90DL (soon 100)

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2012
    Messages:
    5,042
    I did, but that would have all come out of my pocket. The reality is I would have likely been ok with 400A service, but without load shedding we couldn't meet code.

    I've got a pool with an electric heat pump (80A including the pumps), a spa that draws 70A, and 3 hybrid HVAC systems with heat pumps. Add that to the normal load for a 5500sqft house and it adds up.

    If dominion wasn't covering most of the cost I would have spent more time looking at other options.

    Just don't let my wife see the side/front yard.

    323b9e5a2a206eb6e82f0a07d60cb3b5.jpg

    Boring under the street and replacing the transformer. It's going from 50kVa to 100kVa. Hopefully the voltage won't sag as much under heavy load.

    d921950eb120e6b100a5b1bde8925138.jpg
     
  12. Cottonwood

    Cottonwood Roadster#433, Model S#S37

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    5,062
    Location:
    Colorado
    Nice work!

    I have 600 Amp service in both of my houses and am happy that I do!

    600 Amps * 240 Volts is 115 kVA. Interestingly, in Boulder I share a 50 kVA transformer with 2 other houses and the service works well for all 3 houses. I have tested Boulder by pushing the total load a little over 50 kVA with 3 EV's charging, air conditioners, and the steam shower all on. In Pagosa, I have a 100 kVA transformer all to myself; that is probably overkill, but I'm not complaining.
     
  13. FlasherZ

    FlasherZ Sig Model S + Sig Model X + Model 3 Resv

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    7,019
    I have 400A service on a dedicated 37.5 kVA transformer. I asked the operations director at our co-op what he thought, considering I was going to add an additional 100A for charging Model X via an additional HPWC. He said there's no issue and I have plenty of room for additional loads on the service. My load calcs all work out without an issue - and I don't even have to use the alternate methods. :)

    My service doesn't even bat an eye when loaded with 150A of charging load (S + X) plus a full house worth of stuff.

    The biggest issue with a HFH (huge fat house) is the 3 VA per sq ft on the general load - that's 68A for a 5,500 sq ft home, plus your laundry circuits, 2 kitchen small appliance circuits, A/C+heat loads, cooking loads, etc. Even then, though, it's hard to blow past 400 service.
     
  14. MITE46

    MITE46 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2014
    Messages:
    106
    Location:
    Los Altos / San Marino
    600A on shared 50kva transformer with 3 other houses...popped the transformer a few times already, but they keep on replacing it with another 50kva...Sometimes I wonder if the utility is even doing the math...
     
  15. andrewket

    andrewket 2014 S P85DL, 2016 X P90DL (soon 100)

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2012
    Messages:
    5,042
    I will be sharing with 3 other homes.
     
  16. dhrivnak

    dhrivnak Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2,150
    Location:
    NE Tennessee
    Wow we have a 200 amp service with 2 plug-in cars and all electric heating. We have yet to trip a breaker. With Solar we nearly net 0
     
  17. Cottonwood

    Cottonwood Roadster#433, Model S#S37

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    5,062
    Location:
    Colorado
    #17 Cottonwood, Feb 20, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2016
    My Pagosa house has 4 60-Amp circuits for Electro Thermal Storage (ETS) heat; that is a 240 Amp starting point. Add a couple of ETS hot water heaters, two steam showers, 4,000 feet of house, a 100-Amp HPWC, 2 50-Amp 14-50's, etc, and it was pretty easy to justify 600 Amps to the local co-op. I guess a conservative engineer just decided that all that deserved a 100 kVA transformer.

    The Boulder house just had a very conservative electrician. He was convinced that I needed 800 Amp service. I have forgotten the details of the argument, but it centered around me wanting all outlet circuits to be 20 Amps and wanting many more 20-Amp outlet circuits than code required, along with an extra strong AC system. I showed him that 400 Amps was all that was needed; in the end we compromised on 600 Amp service. 20 years later, I am happy that we did. It allowed me to add a dedicated 200-Amp sub-panel in the garage that is exclusively for EV charging. In the end, it was probably good that I had a conservative electrician during construction 20 years ago; I'd hate to think what he would have recommended, had he known about my EV future... :biggrin:
     
  18. FlasherZ

    FlasherZ Sig Model S + Sig Model X + Model 3 Resv

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    7,019
    Ah yes, the electric heating storage. I never could make those numbers work out, except when we had the propane shortage last year from the storms - but I have a good, annual contracted price for propane in the winter. I can see that - I have all gas appliances.
     
  19. Cottonwood

    Cottonwood Roadster#433, Model S#S37

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Messages:
    5,062
    Location:
    Colorado
    With aggressive TOU rates from my local co-op, ETS beats propane, but natural gas beats ETS for space heating; because only propane is available at my house, ETS is the winner. It's amazing to store heat energy in almost 2 tons of ceramic brick.
     
  20. CHG-ON

    CHG-ON Still in love after all these miles

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Messages:
    2,754
    Location:
    Santa Cruz Mountains, USA
    Holy cow! I want that! Seriously though, I only have the the one MS and I seem to do fine on 100 AMP, which is way too low. But where, I live, the cost was absurd to upgrade. Much to my surprise, I have had no issues at all.
     

Share This Page