Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Use of the Autopilot in Switzerland. A personal experience.

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I bought in Switzerland a Model 3 long range dual motor version in June 2021, and dished nearly 11'000 US$ for the advanced autopilot feature. I am a tech fan had the money so it was the price to pay to have a personal opinion about that technology. How does this compare to my other car, the newest model full option hybrid Lexus 450HL.

Allow me a small digression here: I know that Musk was "officially" against Lidar systems and was for a camera "only" solution. Yes humans use a camera only solution but they have a real "Brain" that Tesla vehicles do not have. Personally I do not follow Musk on this and if he is where he is now with his Autopilot this is because of his stubborn attitude on this. My pragmatic opinion here is that you do not have a real Brain that can extract the needed information, you make up for this lack by adding the sensors that can give you directly that information. This doesn't change the fact that I am a complete fan of what he has done up to now with Tesla and SpaceX and hat's off for having succeeded against all odds to shake to the ground the completely fossilized car industry.

So how it went to use it here in Switzerland?