Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Used Model S (2016-2017) or new Model 3?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hard to decide, trying to sum up some points here, and would like some comments.
I don't drive a lot, but when I do, it's mostly longer trips. No commute and almost no city driving.
Had a 2014 Model S, and have several friends with Model 3, so I am not new to Teslas at all.
A gearhead and electrical engineer by profession, and do as much work as possible on my car(s) myself when out of warranty,
No interest in FSD, as it will be more or less useless here in Europe for years and years to come.

Option 1:
Used Model S, 2016-2017 model, must be facelift/refresh version, preferably 90D, might consider 75D. Mileage will usually be 80000-150000 km.
+ Aluminium body, not as rust-prone
+ Hatchback with very convenient loading
+ A bit more premium interior, with alcantara headliner, two screens etc.
+ More extras
+ Better sound deadening
+ Worst depreciation is already done
+ Free supercharging (unless the car has been resold by Tesla)
+ Sunroof possible (love having it open on nice days)
+ AP1 which works quite well
- AP1 which will not see any more updates
- Older tech
- Older battery tech
- Used car will have worn wear parts
- Expensive repairs
- Very bad support from Tesla, with exorbitant parts prices
- Slow supercharging

Option 2:
New or almost new (MY 2021) Model 3 LR AWD.
+ Modern up-to-date tech
+ More convenient size
+ New car warranty - if anything fails, not my problem
+ Everything is new and not worn by anyone
+ Fast supercharging
+ Trailer hitch (I am in Europe)
+ Long range
- Steel body with very mediocre rustproofing and paint quality
- Inconvenient trunk with tiny opening
- Not particularly "premium" feel - it feels sort of cheap inside
- High road noise
- High depreciation on a new car