Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

User Experience case study for Tesla UI

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.

zdre

40kWh Model S, Model 3LR
Jan 18, 2010
St. Louis
(zdre's wife)
I am a UX Design student doing a class research project on the Tesla user interface.
This research will be used to prototype any potential improvements to the UI functionality and/or layout.

I would like to ask the amazing Tesla community to provide some feedback on the current UI by filling out a survey!
The survey should take approximately 5-10 minutes. The survey does not collect emails, and the individual responses will not be shared.

Thank you for helping me to complete this assignment!

Here is the link to the survey in google forms:
UX Tesla Case Study

The touch screen centric nature of a Tesla is what grabs a lot of attention, but I think people are missing the bigger picture.

What makes Tesla special is the UX, and not the UI. I'm not a UX researcher, but as I understand it UX is about the total experience with a brand.

I don't know of another company outside of perhaps Apple that does a better job of UX.

The way the phone, and the car interact.

Charging at home with the Tesla charger possibly using a Tesla solar roof to contribute
Charging at a supercharger, and not having to enter any information. Just plug in, and it immediately starts charging.
Charging at a destination charger where its seamless.

You can do nifty things like sending a destination address from the phone to the car.

There are certainly things that could use some improvement like Trip planning on a computer using the Tesla website. It's pretty terrible.

But, all in all Tesla really nailed UX.

Unlike Facebook where you seriously have to wonder what the UX people there are even thinking.

Too much personal information.