TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Using Homebridge and Siri to control your Tesla

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by wayner, Jan 18, 2016.

1. wayner

wayner Active Member

Has anyone tried this yet. Homebridge is available on Github at https://github.com/nfarina/homebridge. There are 88 plugins available here https://www.npmjs.com/search?q=homebridge-plugin

You run it on something like an RPi and it acts as a bridge between iOS' HomeKit.

I am no expert on this but it should be very doable to whip up a plugin to use voice commands via Siri to start and stop charging, turn on climate, unlock, etc.

Here is the description from Github:

2. SteveW25561

SteveW25561 Member

This wold be soo great especially if there's some way to do it remotely (not on your own network). I suspect this won't do it but even home voice command would be useful. Subscribing in hopes someone will figure out how and post the tutorial.

3. joaquinsfy

joaquinsfy Member

I just started to work with HomeBridge this morning, i setup the Bridge and also a WeMo Switch, i see there's a Tesla plugin, (i have a p85+), and i think it's easy to use it, but i think that you need to be in the same network (wifi), i will take a deep look ...

4. wayner

wayner Active Member

Can you provide a link to the Tesla plugin? I didn't see that.

5. joaquinsfy

joaquinsfy Member

6. wayner

wayner Active Member

It looks like that uses teslams which is also written in JavaScript and allows full control of the Tesla. But I don't know the significance of the term "legacy-plugins". I think Homebridge has only been around for a few months so it shouldn't be an issue that it has been deprecated.

edit - Here is what it says about legacy lugins:

7. joaquinsfy

joaquinsfy Member