TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC
Start a Discussionhttps://teslamotorsclub.com/tmc/tags/

Using Homelink

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by MSullivan, Jun 11, 2016.

  1. MSullivan

    MSullivan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2016
    Messages:
    198
    Location:
    New England
    Apologies if this is covered elsewhere. I searched for Homelink and all those threads were about trouble setting up.
    My garage door opener works fine when I push the Homelink button inside the car but the last time I left it didn't close the garage door automatically. Yes I have the option checked. I think it said garage door close skipped.
    It opens everytime I come home.
    What is the proper procedure to get it to close as well? Do I open it using the wall switch or does it have to be while in the car?
    Thanks
     
  2. steve841

    steve841 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,512
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Its not a perfect system. Sporadic at best.
     
  3. MSullivan

    MSullivan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2016
    Messages:
    198
    Location:
    New England
    OK but how am I supposed to operate it? Open at the wall or use the car control?
     
  4. jgallops

    jgallops Not so Well Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013
    Messages:
    54
    Location:
    Illinois
    Mine works like yours currently works. If I open it from in the car to leave, it doesn't close automatically. If I open it from the wall and leave, then it will close automatically. It has been really consistent about this.
     
  5. steve841

    steve841 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,512
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Personal experience, neither way has worked consistently. HOWEVER, without much testing, I find that if I pull in head first rather than my normal backing in, it seems to be more consistent. AND, if the garage is open for more than a few minutes, it seems to work better.
     
  6. GaryREM

    GaryREM Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Messages:
    454
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    Yep. Same for me.

    Open from wall when leaving and the Tesla closes every time.
    Open from the Tesla and auto closing doesn't work. The Homelink dropdown shows, but no Skip button.
     
  7. GlmnAlyAirCar

    GlmnAlyAirCar Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    Messages:
    726
    Location:
    Gilbertsville, PA
    This is precisely my experience as well.
     
  8. simonog

    simonog Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Messages:
    401
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Do you see the animated wave icon showing there is a transmission going on? If not, it's a car issue. If you do, it may be a directional or dispersion issue or a transmission which is confusing your receiver by going on too long.
     
  9. GaryREM

    GaryREM Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Messages:
    454
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    Not sure what you are saying.

    As I said, if I open from the car, when I back out there should be a Skip button offering me a chance to stop the door from closing. The Skip button is not there and the car, therefore, isn't going to close the door.

    When I open from the wall, when I back out I see the Skip button and know that the car will close the door and it does.
     
  10. Fanatic1

    Fanatic1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016
    Messages:
    216
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay Area, CA
    If I open garage via button or via Tesla car Homelink manually, it will auto close after reversing out of garage. However, my experience with either using fob or auto park from MCU screen/selecting forward arrow after double clicking parking stick is inconsistent. Actually, my home charger button recently since summon updates seems to inconsistently open charger door. :(
     
  11. simonog

    simonog Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Messages:
    401
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    If you just operate the Homelink entry manually you should see the animated icon to the right of entry while it transmits. That is the only definitive sign that the car is actually transmitting.

    The reason for asking is that some receivers are affected by how long the pulse transmitted is and will not work if it's too long. I know the Skip option should appear if it is going to auto transmit but it might itself be the error.
     
  12. Ciaopec

    Ciaopec Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2016
    Messages:
    332
    Location:
    Ohio
    Mine, too, works like this.
     
  13. DoubleE

    DoubleE Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2016
    Messages:
    278
    Location:
    San Juan Capistrano, CA
    Does anyone know how to link a remote for a gated community?

    When I open the remote, it's a standard toggle/switch remote.

    Does the HomeLink work with these types? I tried programming it following the directions on the screen but it doesn't seem to work for me.

    My garage rolling code works.
     
  14. slevit1md

    slevit1md Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    229
    Location:
    Lebanon, OR
    I have found that it just works sporadically, doesn't seem related to how I opened the door. I almost always open the door from the wall button and after I back out, sometimes it closes, sometimes it doesn't. Does the same thing when I come home - sometimes opens the door, sometimes it does't. It always has the countdown for the auto open or close, but just doesn't always work. It seems to me that the Tesla just has a weak homelink signal.
     
  15. sdorn

    sdorn Director of Awesome

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2016
    Messages:
    901
    Location:
    Georgia
    I am having a different problem. My car sends the signal to open the garage way too far from my house so it doesn't work. How do you fine tune when it sends the signal?
     
  16. steve841

    steve841 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,512
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    There's an option in the Homelink settings to allow you to reset the location ....
     
    • Informative x 1
  17. sdorn

    sdorn Director of Awesome

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2016
    Messages:
    901
    Location:
    Georgia
    Thanks, I'll look for that.
     
  18. sdorn

    sdorn Director of Awesome

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2016
    Messages:
    901
    Location:
    Georgia
    Ok, I reset the location with the car sitting with its nose almost touching the garage door but it still tries to open the door before I even turn into my drive way so it is too far away to open the garage door. Any way to adjust it so it doesn't try and open the door until it is within say 10 feet or so of the door?
     
  19. steve841

    steve841 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,512
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Nothing as of yet.
     
  20. NOLA_Mike

    NOLA_Mike Grouchy

    Joined:
    May 11, 2013
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Hammond, LA
    I hope this seemingly fringe case can help somebody else so here goes.

    Having been a Model S owner for 3.5 years now I considered myself a pro at Homelink programming and operation on the Model S. Never had any real problems programming or operating multiple garage doors with the Tesla. Auto Homelink worked great too - closing the door every time I backed out of the garage and opening the door every time I pulled in to the driveway. I always put fresh batteries in the remote before programming the Model S because a) the instructions say to do that and b) I believe the instructions say to do that because the Model S Homelink not only learns the code but also tries to emulate the transmit power of the remote being used to train (thus fresh batteries help it learn the highest power).

    Fast forward to two weeks ago. Brand new Model S. I program it up, set the location for automatic operation and proceed to test it out.

    It works every single time to open the door when returning home but works only sometimes to close the door upon leaving. WTH?!?? This is not the issue of "Skipping Auto Close" but rather it would act like it was working, transmitting a signal and activating the chime but just wouldn't close the garage door. Even if I tried to manually resend the signal it would not close the door.

    Over the course of the last two weeks I noticed that if I opened the garage door (from the wall button) and then did some other stuff in the garage before getting in the car and leaving it would work every time. I finally narrowed it down to if I opened the garage door from the wall button and then waited until the light went off before leaving, it would work every time. Of course, upon returning the light was never on so it worked every time.

    Today it dawned on me - the day I got back with the new Model S I decided to change the incandescent bulb in the garage door opener to one of my fancy new Phillips LED bulbs. Took the LED bulb out and put the old incandescent 60W bulb back in and viola - no more issues. The only thing I can figure is the LED bulb electronics were generating just enough RF interference right next to the receiving antenna wire that it interfered with the Tesla Homelink signal.

    Mike
     
    • Informative x 4

Share This Page