Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

V10 keeps "Saving" profiles - why?

boaterva

Well-Known Member
Supporting Member
No, the point is if it changing from EA to your profile, nothing has changed. It’s setting the car to it. It’s reading it, not saving an update.

So, what is being ‘saved’?

What does multiple profiles have to do with it? It knows which profiles are in effect from the fob or phone or card (depending on car, all do this).
 

whitex

Well-Known Member
Sep 30, 2015
6,994
8,951
Seattle area, WA
No, the point is if it changing from EA to your profile, nothing has changed. It’s setting the car to it. It’s reading it, not saving an update.

So, what is being ‘saved’?

What does multiple profiles have to do with it? It knows which profiles are in effect from the fob or phone or card (depending on car, all do this).
Maybe it was the guy who implemented the "Saving" animation on the screen who felt it needed more visibility, so why not add saving the profile everywhere - with manual saving of profiles, owners may never see the cool animation if they don't change their profiles often. Or maybe it was Tesla's web app user experience team who thought it's cool to see the animation every time you get in the car.

Seriously though, it most likely was some outsourced programmer, who's never driven a Tesla, added a call to SaveProfile() as a work around for some bug they couldn't figure it out, and Tesla just shipped it.
 
  • Informative
Reactions: pilotSteve

ItsNotAboutTheMoney

Well-Known Member
Jul 12, 2012
11,980
10,281
Maine
So your theory is that saving a profile, even if it didn't change, is required in order to switch to a new profile? How do you think it worked in V9 or earlier?

My theory is that it has to save the current profile selection and tells you that it's saving because it's saving, and the change you've noticed is that it's telling you that it's saving.

Depending on how it's implemented, it could be saving anything from that one selection, to all settings.
 
Maybe it always used to do this and only recently started showing that it was doing it. Or maybe because V10 is supposed to save more settings they just went everywhere and did a save. Either way, don't worry about it. The profile is probably a few kilobytes big so even if it was saving the whole profile that's negligible. The eMMC wear out was due to 100s of megabytes worth of logging a day, a profile is nothing in comparison.
 
  • Like
Reactions: MP3Mike

whitex

Well-Known Member
Sep 30, 2015
6,994
8,951
Seattle area, WA
My theory is that it has to save the current profile selection and tells you that it's saving because it's saving, and the change you've noticed is that it's telling you that it's saving.

Depending on how it's implemented, it could be saving anything from that one selection, to all settings.
Pre-V10 it was not saving, I used to move my wife's MS seat when reparking her car while in her profile, it never saved, always came back to settings she saved manually when she drove the car later using her profile.
 

boaterva

Well-Known Member
Supporting Member
Pre-V10 it was not saving, I used to move my wife's MS seat when reparking her car while in her profile, it never saved, always came back to settings she saved manually when she drove the car later using her profile.
And if you make ‘changes’ it will ask if you want to update the profile because perhaps you DON’T want it saved.

None of this makes any sense.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Gwgan
This was mentioned in the release notes:

Driver Profile

In addition to your seat, mirror and steering wheel positions, your car automatically saves many settings to your driver profile. With this release, you can now see when a setting is saved to the selected driver profile at the status bar located at the top of your touchscreen.​
 
  • Like
Reactions: SoCal Buzz

SoCal Buzz

Early Adopter
Supporting Member
Oct 9, 2018
972
904
OC, Calif.
It's a new feature, which is beneficial in some cases but also does not allow you the choice. The best example is temp setting. If you change it up / down the car auto-saves to current profile. However, moving the seat or steering wheel still asks if you want to save the profile update.
 
I have noticed this too but if it’s saving that setting then why does it do it every time? For example, I used to turn off my headlights if parked at home (before getting out of the car), so now it started to show this change but there is no benefit of this. I still need to turn them off manually after the first saving?! I remember it’s been asking me before to confirm to make this action each time in this location, like tilting the mirrors...
 

emmz0r

Senior Software Engineer
Jul 12, 2018
1,292
1,128
Norway
Since they reduced the logging, they needed to find another way to kill the eMMC faster :p

Anyway, I think it saves all the time now because some people complained that it didn't save often enough. I remember last year at delivery they said I had to nudge the steering wheel adjustment to bring up the save button.

Now it seems to save on every action, even if you are not doing anything, like pressing the brake pedal to get out of easy entry and into driving position. That indicates that the save is triggered not by user input, but rather by activity from the peripherals.
 
  • Like
Reactions: boaterva

Products we're discussing on TMC...

About Us

Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.

Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


SUPPORT TMC
Top