TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

V7.0 question

Discussion in 'Model S' started by earthman01, Oct 19, 2015.

  1. earthman01

    earthman01 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    east coast, USA
    Where is the odometer?
     
  2. n33d45p33d

    n33d45p33d Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2014
    Messages:
    42
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    If you put the trip display on the dash you can see it there. Other than there don't know where else.
     
  3. tinm

    tinm 2013 S85 Owner

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,138
    Location:
    New Mexico, USA
    Service dept is gonna love this extra workflow. Having to tap a few extra settings in order to see the car's mileage when you bring the car in for work.
     
  4. Armadillos

    Armadillos Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    If you click on the T on the main console, it will show it there also.
     
  5. patrick40363

    patrick40363 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    208
    Location:
    Cali
    I went looking for it this morning. Only way to display the odometer is the trip display. Shift indicator is also off to the right instead of center. Takes some getting used too.
     
  6. Thud

    Thud Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    236
    Location:
    Atlanta
    When you think about it, the shift indicator really isn't necessary at all. When was the last time you needed to see which "gear" you were in?
     
  7. Hank42

    Hank42 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012
    Messages:
    190
    Location:
    United States - NY
    When I'm in a hurry and accidentally (Ok, on purpose, because ->I'm in a HURRY!<-) press the stalk twice instead of once to get it into drive and wonder why the car is not moving! :)
     
  8. Cyclone

    Cyclone Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    4,398
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Three-point turns. Many times reverse doesn't engage if I am going too fast and the indicator is the fastest way to see save pressing the go-pedal and hitting the curb. And before you say it, I keep my rear camera on at all times, so it takes more time and mental energy to see the white lines suddenly appear than looking at the gear indicator on the instrument cluster.
     
  9. SabrToothSqrl

    SabrToothSqrl Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,532
    Location:
    PA
    r. you can pull that anywhere from the car's API.
    I always assumed they could pull that without even having the ca
     
  10. tstafford

    tstafford Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    790
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Confirming N for when I run it thru a car wash. (Yes, I do use that type of car wash on occasion.)
     
  11. Max*

    Max* Autopilot != Autonomous

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    4,887
    Location:
    NoVa
    Service department doesn't actually look at the odometer...

    I came in to buy a Chademo, service never touched my car. On the printed receipt they had my exact mileage.
     
  12. Vger

    Vger Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,689
    Location:
    Salt Spring Island, BC, Canada
    Good point. I was going to say-- they doing it all over the wire, logging into the car's systems!
     
  13. RichardL

    RichardL Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Messages:
    404
    Location:
    San Carlos, California
    and yet, strangely on the classic cars, the odometer is now the most prominent item, in the center of the speedo gauge, directly under the toy car
     
  14. tliving

    tliving Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2014
    Messages:
    636
    Location:
    New England, USA
    Note that this is only true on AP cars. The trip display on non-AP cars doesn't show it. This is probably as it would be redundant when the car is started but there are all sorts of UI things here.
     

Share This Page