Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Valentine 1 install with Savvy

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Has anyone installed a V1 with Savvy...?

I’m new to the Model X (P100D) but I believe it has a OBD2 port to plug in a Savvy unit. May need to get creative with the phone cord into the V1 while fishing/hiding it in the A-pillar. Curious to see if anyone else has had success here? TIA

I'm 99% sure Savvy Hardware/OBDII won't work. I'm 99% sure I tried it in both the OBDII and the CANBus port (one for Scan My Tesla) (more out of curiosity than anything, I have one).

I went with a Mirror Tap, easy peasy.

Photo below is a V1-Gen2 and I run V1Driver (in background, you'd never know it's running, does Savvy, AutoMute and GPS Mute more). You can also control which Bands to turn Savvy on. I leave Savvy off on Ka. With the Hardware one it mutes all bands when under speed.

I have not run the X over summer yet and I might move it if I have to run the Sun Screen. But this is nice location that does not interfere with visors. Not to much in your face and doesn't take away from the "X" feel.

This is an MT-1015 wire tape. Blend mound recommends MTX-1015 (2.5x the price) and I found I didn't need it.

A blend mount BTW would prevent me from installing a SunShield which I did use last fall.

I also like it that thieves nor cops will see it where I have it.

I bent the visor clip flat and used 3M Dual Lock to mount to windshield.

49683780726_4949fb2c21_b_d.jpg

49684075292_2e6308b188_b_d.jpg

49691191538_42c2dfa0fa_b_d.jpg

Last edited:
Reactions: mattack4000
Nicely done , looks much easier than the model 3 which I ran back all the way to the VCLEFT open port.

Is the mirror 12V switch or 12V constant? I didn’t try it yet bc I didn’t want to run wires all over the place but if the dimming mirrors work as a 12V switch, that is a great spot for clean install