Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Variable Charging Rate

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
My P90D with 72 amp onboard charger will be my first Tesla, so I have no past experience with charging. I'm wondering if you can tell the car at which rate to charge. I will have the High Power Wall Charger on a 100 amp circuit. If I don't want to charge at the full capacity of the wall unit all the time, can I dial it back with any controls in the car/touch screen/iPhone app? Total newbie question, I know.

My P90D with 72 amp onboard charger will be my first Tesla, so I have no past experience with charging. I'm wondering if you can tell the car at which rate to charge. I will have the High Power Wall Charger on a 100 amp circuit. If I don't want to charge at the full capacity of the wall unit all the time, can I dial it back with any controls in the car/touch screen/iPhone app? Total newbie question, I know.

Yes, you can tell it what rate to charge at. More importantly, by default it will only charge to about 80-90% in order to keep the battery in the best possible condition. Once it finishes charging it will continue to draw a small amount from the charger to power all the onboard electronics so the battery doesn't run down unnecessarily. The advice from Tesla is to leave the car plugged in all the time at home.

If you are planning to go on a road trip and need the range, you put the charger into 'range mode' and it will charge it to 100%, from there you should start driving it within a few hours.