TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Vehicle Display System (VDS) touchscreen

Discussion in 'Roadster: Technical' started by doug, Apr 6, 2007.

  1. doug

    doug Administrator / Head Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    15,912
    Location:
    Stanford, California
    That VDS looks pretty cool. Anyone else concerned about the location of it? It's on the left hand side just above the knee. Seems like a poor location if you had to glance at it while driving. Also you'd have to operate it with your left hand which isn't so natural for most. Any thoughts?
     
  2. vfx

    vfx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    14,792
    Location:
    CA CA
    Re: Vehicle Display System (VDS) location

    My first thought too. I would not have chosen left at all. Second thought was how small it is.

    The graphics I've seen are clear though.
     
  3. doug

    doug Administrator / Head Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    15,912
    Location:
    Stanford, California
    Re: Vehicle Display System (VDS) location

    It also seems quite low. From the pictures it's practically under the dash. Given my height, if I had something like that in my Miata, my knee would be in the way.
     
  4. doug

    doug Administrator / Head Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    15,912
    Location:
    Stanford, California
    VDS screen shots

    Don't remember if this has already been posted here, but I stumbled across this from our friend Bill Arnett.
    Tesla Roadster Touch Screen Displays

    Here are a choice few:

    IMG_1605_1.jpg

    _MG_8252.jpg

    IMG_1640_1.jpg

    IMG_1646_1.jpg
     
  5. TEG

    TEG TMC Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,249
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    I wonder what other owners are seeing in terms of regen vs used energy.
    IMG_1610_1.jpg
     
  6. vfx

    vfx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    14,792
    Location:
    CA CA
    At first glance those tire pressures look all over the place. I suppose you are supposed to have the correct pressures memorized.

    Like there's nothing else to fit in your head.
     
  7. doug

    doug Administrator / Head Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    15,912
    Location:
    Stanford, California
    No, it will warn you if they are too far off.

    IMG_1617_1.jpg
     
  8. vfx

    vfx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    14,792
    Location:
    CA CA

    Hmm.

    What does a warning look like?
     
  9. TEG

    TEG TMC Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,249
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #9 TEG, Feb 1, 2009
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2009
  10. vfx

    vfx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    14,792
    Location:
    CA CA
    #10 vfx, Mar 2, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 2, 2009
    What are these measurements showing? How does these relate to battery consumption? Does that white dot denote something?
    IMG_1640_1.jpg
    (This might be a different thread, "instruments and gauges".)
     
  11. TEG

    TEG TMC Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,249
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #11 TEG, Mar 2, 2009
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2009
    My guess is that he took that photo while the vehicle was stopped, so it didn't show any activity. I assume it has bars that grow in either the positive or negative direction depending on if you are speeding up or slowing down.
    Bars pointing down below the +/- line should show regen and slowing (so power going back to the battery again). If all bars were max upwards it would be 280ft-lb / 250hp / .7 forward g's.
    The torque and power bars would track to the torque and power curve, so with the accelerator pedal fully down from stop, the torque bar would likely jump to max, and stay that way as the power bar rose. Once power bar got to max then the torque bar would start to drop off as you head towards max rpms.

    Oh, and I assume this is all eMotor related. For instance if you stomped on the brake pedal you would be doing ~ -1g but the display above only shows the eMotor contribution (max - .2g of regen braking)
     
  12. graham

    graham Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,572
    Location:
    Aptos, California
  13. doug

    doug Administrator / Head Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    15,912
    Location:
    Stanford, California
    I'd think it's more likely that the VDS has its own accelerometer, a low cost part. (It already has its own GPS.)
     
  14. TEG

    TEG TMC Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,249
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    Hmm, so why not show more than -.2g of deceleration?
     
  15. WarpedOne

    WarpedOne Supreme Premier

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Messages:
    2,651
    Location:
    Slovenia, Europe
    It doesn't even need one. The acceleration can be easily calculated from changes in rpm. Cheaper and mor reliable then separate electronics.
     
  16. Palpatine

    Palpatine Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,357
    Location:
    Seattle
    #16 Palpatine, Feb 27, 2010
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2010
    VDS touchscreen new features

    I just noticed something in my Tesla Roadster. Not sure if this is new from a firmware update or if it has always been there. Perhaps others can confirm.

    On the main VDS screen with your range image and ideal miles, when you touch the screen in the area of the outlined battery charge, it now switches the Roadster between performance, range and standard mode. Storage mode is not available via this method.

    You no longer need to go into any other screens. You can change your mode while driving with one click of your finger within the outline of the battery.

    Is this new? Or am I just slow to notice this feature?

    To verify, just touch within the green area of this screen.

    4332785751_51e4584f45_d.jpg
     
  17. vfx

    vfx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    14,792
    Location:
    CA CA
    #17 vfx, Feb 27, 2010
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2010
    Also just picked up the new firmware today.

    2008 1.5

    I do not have the mph speed readout but noticed a new KW meter much like the cluster's amp meter. It's in the graph screen.

    I think the day of the week is new too.

    Dr Computer's request to move the P, S and R letters has also been done.
     
  18. AJC

    AJC Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    Chicago
    I had my firmware upgraded last week at the dealership and that was one of the new features the service manager pointed out - the ability to switch between standard, performance, and range modes by just touching the battery on the range battery screen.
     
  19. vfx

    vfx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    14,792
    Location:
    CA CA
    Which car do you have?
     
  20. AJC

    AJC Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    Chicago
    #20 AJC, Feb 27, 2010
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2010
    I have a 2010 Roadster, 2.0.
     

Share This Page