TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

ver:. 5.0 How and when can i get

Discussion in 'Technical' started by CantaMia Ron, Oct 15, 2013.

  1. CantaMia Ron

    CantaMia Ron Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    United States
    I have been waiting to get the new software update 5.0
    And what is how you get it, is by serial# or when car was delivered?
     
  2. jerry33

    jerry33 S85 - VIN:P05130 - 3/2/13

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    12,763
    Location:
    Texas
    What appears to happen is that a select number of beta testers get it first, and then it's rolled out to the rest in no particular order. There are often several beta-type releases before it's rolled out.
     
  3. gaswalla

    gaswalla P4201/85/airsusp/pano/19i

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,203
    Location:
    San Diego
    you don't want 5.0... it was full of bugs, and you should be thankful that you don't have it. 5.6 is the latest version, and it will get pushed out after it's been thoroughly tested by the beta testers and the folks that got their cars delivered by 5.0 and unknowingly got enrolled in the beta program.
     
  4. Andercam

    Andercam Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    Colorado
    What bugs? Please elaborate.
    My car was delivered at the beginning of September with V5.0, and I haven't had any issues (that I'm aware of).
     
  5. yobigd20

    yobigd20 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,793
    Location:
    Skaneateles, NY
    It's not a bug, its a feature!
     
  6. CantaMia Ron

    CantaMia Ron Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    United States
    #6 CantaMia Ron, Oct 25, 2013
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2013
    Still waiting for the new Update , so i clean the display and sleep mode.
    It's been a month and no up date , the VIN: P14019 is that why.?

    Sorry for fat finger error it should be 14019.
     
  7. brianman

    brianman Burrito Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    15,487
    41019? I find that number surprising.
     
  8. 100thMonkey

    100thMonkey Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    914
    Location:
    Seattle area
    wow, maybe this upcoming ER really is going to blow our socks off ;~)
     
  9. brianman

    brianman Burrito Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    15,487
    Ah, it was a dyslexia-style typo.
     
  10. dflye

    dflye S Sig Perf 414, VIN 814

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    569
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Definitely isn't a rollout ordered by VIN!

    I have VIN 00814 and had been on 4.5 approximately forever (in Tesla time). After a few visits to service this week to diagnose some frequently occurring 3G failures (which they potentially think is related to the large USB thumb drives I use and the cell phone dead zone in my garage), they installed 5.0 for me. So getting 5.0 now was very nice, as I was enjoying the new features on the loaner with 5.6 I had for one day!
     
  11. apacheguy

    apacheguy Sig 255, VIN 320

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    3,728
    Location:
    So Cal
    So a service center finally agrees to update someone from 4.5 and they put them on 5.0? Where's the logic in that? Shouldn't it be 5.6 since that has been confirmed as the update ready for mass rollout?

    I would be a very happy camper if I could get 5.x loaded on my car. I just find it curious that dflye was upgraded to an outdated release.
     
  12. dflye

    dflye S Sig Perf 414, VIN 814

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    569
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    I was a bit surprised as well that they chose 5.0 over 5.6. Since my issue affected 3G connectivity, and using a fuse reset apparently clears the logs they wanted to see, the local guy had to connect his laptop, then one of their firmware engineers remotely logged into the linux host in the car to poke around. Apparently 5.6 isn't official enough, but at least 5.0 wasn't also verboten.
     
  13. ecarfan

    ecarfan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    Messages:
    10,393
    Location:
    San Mateo, CA
    I know someone who got their new S last week, came with 5.0. Only issue so far is that one day the nav window came up "empty", showed nothing. Problem fixed by rebooting the center screen. Has not recurred since.
     
  14. AlMc

    AlMc 'Senior Moments' member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,395
    Location:
    Delaware
    There were several versions of 5.0. The latest version, I believe, fixed some of the bugs in earlier versions. The 5.6 adds some features/changes suggested by the beta testers and appears to be going to European deliveries. The 4.5/5.0 should be upgraded to the 5.6 soon...maybe it will be one of the announcements coinciding with the Q3 ER on November 5th.
     
  15. brianman

    brianman Burrito Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    15,487
    I have an "educated guess" on this one -- the service centers have access to 5.0 (on laptops) to address known cases of various issues (but are potentially under orders to limit it to such cases only), but they (may) not have 5.6 on their laptops just yet.
     
  16. CantaMia Ron

    CantaMia Ron Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    United States
    I just got ver: 5.6 The other day.
     

Share This Page