TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC
Start a Discussionhttps://teslamotorsclub.com/tmc/tags/

Very strange homelink bug

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by stan23, Sep 19, 2017.

  1. stan23

    stan23 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2017
    Messages:
    295
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA
    I have a Chamberlian MyQ wifi garage door opener that has worked flawlessly for the past year. It is setup with my Genie garage door opener.

    If I setup homelink on the Model S, it will disable the wifi garage door opener. It just stops working--it's sending the open/close signal but the door won't actually open or close.

    However, if I re-program the wifi garage door opener, it will work again, but then the homelink on the Model S will stop working?!

    I have another car paired to the garage door opener, as well as a remote. (both work fine)

    Any ideas?
     
  2. shaark

    shaark Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    Southern California
    I'm having the exact same issues. Did you find any resolution to this?
     
  3. boaterva

    boaterva Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    2,553
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    I had to set my Homelink up using a completely different button on the original remote. That is, instead of using the same button (number 1) that we've used all along to program other cars (BMW, etc.), I had to use the second one to program the car and then use that 'recording' to program the opener. (The original remote had the capability of controlling three openers, so I had it running the same one twice, if that makes sense.)

    Anything like that perhaps possible to keep it separate? This process was in my opener's manual as something that would possibly be needed with Homelink.
     
  4. GaryREM

    GaryREM Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Messages:
    447
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    I'm confused.

    It sounds like you have a Genie opener.
    It appears you have added a MyQ Garage remote controller.
    You have another car programmed for the Genie opener; that makes 2 remotes.
    You have another Genie remote for the Genie opener; that makes 3 remotes.
    The Tesla would be the 4th remote.

    Do you have any other remotes? I think older Genie has a limit of 6 or 7 (the new ones are much higher), so be sure you are not accidentally reaching the limit.
     
  5. stan23

    stan23 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2017
    Messages:
    295
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA
    That may be the case. I have counted all my current remotes/devices.

    1. Tesla
    2. MyQ
    3. Volvo
    4. Handheld remote
    5. Handheld remote #2
    6. Handheld remote #3 (My MIL has this, didn't even know about it.)

    Sounds like it's allowing a newer device to be programmed, but dropping the most current one.

    I'll have to start from scratch and re-program everything to see if I can get both the MyQ and Tesla to work together.
     
  6. brkaus

    brkaus Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Messages:
    2,104
    I believe the manual for the liftmaster says it drops the oldest (FIFO). Different brands or years may be different.
     
  7. North75

    North75 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2017
    Messages:
    120
    Location:
    MA
    I'm pretty sure there is a limit to how many devices you can sync up with certain garage door openers. I had a similar problem a few years ago, although I forgot what brand opener it was. You probably can only have 5.
     
  8. jeffro01

    jeffro01 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    1,782
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    So I have a chamberlain opener with wifi that I also have connected to their recently released MyQ HomeKit Hub and my Tesla hasn't had any issues operating the door before and after the addition of the MyQ HomeKit Hub...

    Not sure if that helps at all... :)

    Jeff
     
  9. shaark

    shaark Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    Southern California
    I currently only have 4 devices programmed but the Genie supported up to 6 devices. The strange thing is if I go to the homelink settingswhere it shows that the opener isn't programmed and I select home, program and then press start the garage door opens!!
     
  10. stopparde01

    stopparde01 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    San Francisco
    Inhabe some issue here with model s. I had problem programming the remote, to the point that I went to the SC.
    After various trials, they said the homelink module was to be replaced...and will send someone at my house.
    OK, the day after I gave it a try again and this time I was able to program the homelink and worked for 4 days.
    Cancelled the appointment with the Tesla “mobile service”.
    All happy, until saturday, when the homelink does not work anymore, Button is green but it does not open/close the garage.
    I have a Genie ProMax 500IC...
     
  11. shaark

    shaark Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    Southern California
    Can you try the following and see if it helps? That is the only way for my MX on HW2.5 to get homelink to work correctly. Go into the Homelink settings and select the door that you programmed earlier and is not opening. Select program and then Start. For me the garage door opens immediately after that without requiring reprogramming. It's a pain to navigate the menu each time to open/close the garage but the workaround seems to be working consistently for me.
     

Share This Page