TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Voice not working

Discussion in 'Model 3: User Interface' started by skierrob, Jan 5, 2020.

  1. skierrob

    skierrob Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2019
    Messages:
    54
    Location:
    Long Beach, CA
    #1 skierrob, Jan 5, 2020
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2020
    I downloaded 50.7 two days ago. Since then I notice that about 80 percent of the time voice commands are not working - if I press the button for a voice command it does not hear my voice and all and just prompts me to talk. Other times it will sit like its waiting for me to talk for 30 or 45 seconds and then show what I said when I first pressed the button.

    Any ideas? Anyone else seeing this? It’s almost like I have a bad microphone or something like that.
    FYI - I did a reboot of the system once and voice worked for a bit after that but then stopped working again.
     
    • Like x 1
  2. cbaaz

    cbaaz Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2019
    Messages:
    177
    Location:
    arizona
    i see pretty much the same thing on 50.1. If I tap the green mic icon to close the session and then try again, it will barely usually (60% ?) work the next time. The voice commands are pretty much not practica/usable for me at this point. I was hoping 50.5 would fix it, but that download has been stuck for about a week :( - hoping it can be resumed by service soon.
     
    • Like x 1
  3. huangm777

    huangm777 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2019
    Messages:
    132
    Location:
    Southern California
    After working decently for a few days it seems the voice commands aren't working for me either--maybe 1/4 times does it pick up on anything. Sigh. Guess I'll have to go back to not relying on it like I used to...I was starting to warm up to it.
     
  4. plusonechoi

    plusonechoi Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2019
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    S. San Francisco, CA
    Worked great the first few times, now seems to only work about 50% of the time.
     
    • Like x 1
  5. JulienW

    JulienW Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2018
    Messages:
    2,418
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Seems that when each bug update we are getting MORE bugs on the Voice Recognition. Steering wheel button almost never works for me and touching the on screen button seems to be 50-50 or at best.
     
    • Like x 1
  6. cbaaz

    cbaaz Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2019
    Messages:
    177
    Location:
    arizona
    My download was “unstuck” by Tesla remote service and I am now on 50.7. I used voice commands 2 times today. First time, it worked on the first attempt. Second time, it failed four times and worked on the fifth attempt.

    At this point, I think it’s more of a safety reduction due to the distraction factor. :mad:
     
    • Like x 1
  7. Dan123

    Dan123 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Messages:
    449
    Location:
    Miami
    Same experience here. I found it too unreliable to use. Works less than 50% of the time, and most of the time gets stuck in the listening mode, and then suggests "Navigate to Palo Alto" command.
     
    • Like x 2
  8. PianoAl

    PianoAl Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2019
    Messages:
    705
    Location:
    Far Northern California
    It's the same for me. Has anyone experimented to see if there are any parameters that make it more likely to work? For example, speaking more loudly, waiting a second before talking, etc?
     
  9. Andy_STL

    Andy_STL Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2019
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    Saint Louis
    Same here. Voice commands are hot garbage. Not only that, my wife's name is Dorie and when I say "call Dorie" it reads Dory and says that contact does not exist. I never had that issue on previous versions. Major step backwards this update. Answering texts is useless as well.
     
    • Like x 1
  10. 640k

    640k Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2019
    Messages:
    928
    Location:
    Cincinnati
    everything i see posted has been anecdotal. i think we need to first understand if voice control is server-side (has to fetch translation) or client-side (loaded locally). if server-side, it's probably dropping a ping/handshake and the transaction never completes. if client-side, there's likely an out-of-order things of processing happening and it gets tripped up on the command.

    when i first got the feature, it worked fine for a couple days, then completely bombed. after the latest update it will work to initiate an SMS but will never take anything to dictate said message.

    i haven't figured out how "submit a bug report" works, but i've been doing it almost every time.
     
  11. SoccerMan94043

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2016
    Messages:
    307
    Location:
    San Jose
    Dito since (at least) 50.5. But as long as I hold down the right wheel and speak slowly, until I see it registered on the screen, it works. I used to be able to press once then say whatever and it handled it.

    I'm wondering if this might be some hardware 3 thing (longer time to process on older hardware).
     
  12. traxila

    traxila Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,517
    Location:
    NYC
    Yes. Voice commands dead.
     
  13. Kevy Baby

    Kevy Baby Dis-Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2019
    Messages:
    1,644
    Location:
    Brea, CA
    Try gargling with salt water
     
    • Funny x 2
  14. calidreamz808

    calidreamz808 Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2019
    Messages:
    215
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, CA
    it's hit or miss for me as well. Quite annoying but i'm sure they will fix the bugs.
     
  15. Darmie

    Darmie Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    1,392
    Location:
    Clear Lake TX.
    Can't find where I read this however, I remember reading that after these updates on the new voice commands to do a reboot with any or all USB ports disconnected. Something about that module could not reboot for the USB's still in place.
     
    • Helpful x 2
  16. cbaaz

    cbaaz Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2019
    Messages:
    177
    Location:
    arizona
    Thank you for posting this......

    I tried it today. Pulled *ALL* USB cables and rebooted. So far, voice is WORKING 100% (roughly 10/10).

    Granted, I'm only 1 datapoint with about 10 samples, but it's sure as hell worth a try.
     
  17. Colecaz

    Colecaz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Pulling the dashcam/sentry USB and rebooting fixed my 2020 LR AWD voice recognition too. Running .50.7 firmware. Thanks for the suggestion.
     
  18. rickghome

    rickghome New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    San Diego CA
    This is a user experience disaster. Voice input is so essential to the Tesla experience. It's really shocking they'd ship such poor software.
     
    • Like x 1
  19. plusonechoi

    plusonechoi Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2019
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    S. San Francisco, CA
    My update from previous post. Voice seems to be working much better now, closer to about a 85% of the time!

    Not sure how related if at all, but I did have to reboot the car recently because I was not getting FM radio signal (which is also working great now post reboot)
     
  20. Toumal

    Toumal Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2016
    Messages:
    204
    Location:
    Austria
    I am using german language. Voice input now works very consistently, but using anything other than complete known phrases does not. For example:

    Navigate home - works
    Navigate to work - works
    Navigate to example road 5 - unknown command.
    Open glovebox - works

    Interestingly the error message is in english even though system language and my spoken words are german. Text is recognized correctly, just not acted upon.

    Tried rebooting, tried changing language to english and then back again. No joy.

    Workaround: press navigate, THEN use voice input to "type" in the address box, then press return.
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC