Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Volunteers needed for northeast PA school demonstrations

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.

Half Dollar Bill

Traveller, teacher, poet, accountant, innkeeper
Oct 19, 2013
Freeport Maine
I’ve been doing Tesla and electric car presentations at the elementary and high school I graduated from in northeast PA for the last two years. The schools have graciously asked for a return trip this year and I’m posting this message to solicit volunteers from the owner community.

Grades 1-5: Friday April 7
Grades 6-8: Friday April 21 (aligns with the school’s celebration of Earth Day)
High School: Friday May 5 (aligns with alumni reunion weekend)

The presence on campus is basically an all-day event, say from 8AM to 3PM. Each class cycles through a 15-20 minute sit-down presentation and Q&A session then transitions out to the cars for the remainder of the period, about another 20 minutes. The car interaction is hands-on, with each owner defining the limits of what they allow. I take my UMC and plug it in, which disables the ability to shift the car into gear, so I give them free reign on the inside.

During the sit-down part, I have a Powerpoint I go through and though not required, other owners are welcome to share their input and experiences as well. If you’re afraid of presentations, don’t worry as I’d have it covered and you’d basically just need to babysit your car to answer questions during the outside portion. However, if you want to participate during the inside sessions, I’d more than welcome it.