TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Wait wait wait. No garage door opener?

Discussion in 'Model 3: User Interface' started by Atreyu, Jan 2, 2020.

  1. Atreyu

    Atreyu Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2019
    Messages:
    125
    Location:
    Northern California
    Just want to clear this up. I paid $55,000 for a 2020 premium interior model 3 lr awd and it comes with no universal home link? I have to pay $300 to have one installed??
     
    • Funny x 9
    • Like x 3
    • Disagree x 2
    • Helpful x 1
  2. AlanSubie4Life

    AlanSubie4Life Efficiency Obsessed Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2018
    Messages:
    8,622
    Location:
    San Diego
    Your first mistake was buying the AWD, when you could have had a Stealth. It has the power to bust right through that garage door. ;) And it is only $2k more.
     
    • Funny x 15
    • Like x 1
    • Love x 1
  3. Atreyu

    Atreyu Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2019
    Messages:
    125
    Location:
    Northern California
    #3 Atreyu, Jan 3, 2020
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2020
    Baby on the way. Wife said, “you don’t need to be going fast for $5000 more.” Now we don’t even have a home link transmitter!!
     
    • Funny x 2
    • Disagree x 1
  4. run-the-joules

    run-the-joules Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2017
    Messages:
    3,369
    Location:
    SF Bay
    One of the most ridiculous, nonsensical changes they've made to the car.
     
    • Like x 12
  5. Atreyu

    Atreyu Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2019
    Messages:
    125
    Location:
    Northern California
    The car is super fun to drive but the bugs are driving me nuts. It’s 3 days old and I just found out all these creature comforts like garage door opener are gone, or being able to do things quickly without touching 5 different screens. Also, autopilot seems to be really good at hitting potholes.

    also, opened my app and my vin supposedly isn’t linked to my car anymore, but everything works still...
     
    • Informative x 1
    • Like x 1
    • Disagree x 1
  6. M3FNATIK

    M3FNATIK Recovering BMW Addict

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2019
    Messages:
    256
    Location:
    SoCal
    Agreed, of all the things they took away, I think this one is the most annoying b/c all new luxury cars come with Homelink standard now. I don't care about the frunk hooks or mat, or leds in the door pockets as they are marginally useful. But who the heck doesn't use a garage door opener these days?!?!?!
     
    • Disagree x 1
  7. Callawayc7

    Callawayc7 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2019
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    California
    Everybody who I have shown my car too (more than 10 people) can’t believe that I have to use a garage door remote to open my garage. Some even thought that I was pranking them! And laughed when I said I was serious! It’s ridiculous that a car this expensive (> $60k) does not include it! It’s not even about the $300 either. If it was a $300 OTA update I would do it, but you have to bring it into the service center for them to install it and I don’t have time for that.
     
    • Like x 4
    • Disagree x 3
  8. boriszima

    boriszima Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2018
    Messages:
    649
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    I agree, at least make it an option when you build like as an add on. Still disappointing compared to earlier model 3s. I love my homelink. My friends with their top of the line Lexus and Cadillacs are amazed how well it works with GPS based coordinates. Sometimes it’s the little things in life (car) that put smile on my face. I think $300 is expensive as after add on but worth it.

    I also use homelink when I leave my house without my keys, I can open and close garage with Tesla app using homelink button Useful for when going jogging, etc.
     
    • Helpful x 1
    • Informative x 1
    • Like x 1
  9. Mr X

    Mr X Future Martian

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,978
    Location:
    Simi Valley, CA
    Remote in my arm rest. I only open the garage when I'm home. Not a big deal. Really don't care. Always opened my garage with a remote so it's no different from what I've always done


    Not worth $300 to me to to press a digital button on the screen to open my garage


    Yes, should have been standard with the tech this car has, but whateverrrrrrrrrrrrr
     
    • Like x 5
  10. drtimhill

    drtimhill Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2019
    Messages:
    1,394
    Location:
    Seattle
    Yeah I was shocked when I found out they dropped this .. I got my M3 before they dropped it, and it works far better than any other Homelink I've had. This is like the Incredible Grocery Shrink Ray .. taking things out and hoping no-one will notice. NOT good.
     
    • Funny x 1
  11. mal_tsla

    mal_tsla Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2016
    Messages:
    698
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    You don't press a button onscreen. The car opens it automatically when you approach, based on gps.
     
    • Like x 5
    • Informative x 2
    • Helpful x 1
  12. boaterva

    boaterva Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    7,521
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    And of course when you leave. I always wondered how much this really costs and why it wasn’t installed and activated by OTA for those that wanted it. Does it really cost that much that a visit is worth it with all the overhead? Seems insane.
     
    • Like x 1
  13. VinnyS

    VinnyS Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2019
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Whispering Pines, NC
    I am sure that most of the $300.00 that you pay for the Homelink is for the installation. I had a mobile service guy come to my house for the install and it was pretty interesting to see everything under the frunk. I was amazed at how much body work had to be removed for the install. It works great though.
     
    • Helpful x 1
    • Informative x 1
  14. diamond.g

    diamond.g Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2015
    Messages:
    2,381
    Location:
    Moyock, NC
    HomeLink hasn't been included in the Model 3 since like June or July. I suspect they had data that indicated that most folks didn't actually use it. So instead of paying Gentex for every car sold, they likely figured the folks that want it will pay for it.
     
    • Like x 8
  15. JøhP

    JøhP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    Denmark
    Yes you do and the reason is patents.

    Tesla's already has RF components build in as they are connected vehicles. The only thing they would need to achieve Homelink like functionality, is a little bit of programming.

    But if they did that, Tesla would have to pay a license fee for every Tesla build.

    When the patent expires in about 8 years, expect to see an OTA deliver it.
     
    • Like x 2
    • Disagree x 2
  16. dmurphy

    dmurphy Woof.

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    3,099
    Location:
    New Jersey - Morris County
    Great thought, but not likely. They physically leave the RF transmitter out now; that’s what gets installed with the $300 upgrade kit.

    now, once Gentex is done squeezing blood out of the Homelink turnip, I agree - it could become an OTA application. But for now, due to licensing costs, that’s why Tesla leaves the prepackaged Gentex module out. No way would Gentex let them only pay for activated modules .....
     
    • Informative x 2
    • Like x 1
  17. atnbirdie

    atnbirdie Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2019
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    MD
    Yes, that was an unfortunate deletion. Just attach your remote to the back of the lower left corner of the display. I used those 3M tape connectors used for electronic toll systems (EZ Pass, etc.) so I can easily remove and reattach it to change batteries. Works perfectly, is out of site, and cost just a few bucks.
     
    • Helpful x 4
    • Like x 3
    • Love x 1
  18. ecarfan

    ecarfan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    Messages:
    19,169
    Location:
    San Mateo, CA
  19. Atreyu

    Atreyu Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2019
    Messages:
    125
    Location:
    Northern California
    Oh great idea! Thanks!
     
  20. JBailey895

    JBailey895 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2019
    Messages:
    188
    Location:
    Carlsbad, CA
    Is there a way to set the Homelink to auto open by proximity? Wife's RWD has homelink, my P3 does not, but I hate the multi-taps to get to the opener. My remote is clunky, but will find a clip to put it on my visor and live with it. For auto-open, may consider the module. . .
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC