Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Wall Charger overheat warning

My wall charger with a nema 14-50 pigtail, started to give me an overheat warning and reduced my charge rate from 40 amps to 30 amps. The Nema plug and cord are warm but not hot. I have been using this wall charger for the last 4 months at 40 amps with no problem. Only the last week where the garage is hot and humid did I notice it has started to overheat.
My question is, after it cools down in the garage will it return to the 40amp or will I have to reset the wall charger to allow it to charge at the 40 amp rate.

Phlier

Bluebird
Jun 12, 2019
Utah
My wall charger with a nema 14-50 pigtail, started to give me an overheat warning and reduced my charge rate from 40 amps to 30 amps. The Nema plug and cord are warm but not hot. I have been using this wall charger for the last 4 months at 40 amps with no problem. Only the last week where the garage is hot and humid did I notice it has started to overheat.
My question is, after it cools down in the garage will it return to the 40amp or will I have to reset the wall charger to allow it to charge at the 40 amp rate.
That's actually something to really be concerned about. There are quite a few stories of NEMA 14-50's getting seriously hot after they've been used quite a bit.

You really should take the above advice about doing a thorough inspection of as much of the circuit as you can get to safely.

Is it a Tesla factory 14-50 unit? Presumably it has a temp sensor in the plug, and that’s most likely issue. The contacts can be super hot and you wouldn’t really know since they’re hidden in the plug. Unplug it and inspect the prongs to see if they look OK, see how tight it fits in the plug. You can charge at full power for 30 minutes or so, and then stop it and unplug the 14-50 to see how hot the prongs are. If it’s super hot, replace the plug with a better one.

darth_vad3r