Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Wall connector installation trouble, 3 red blinks.

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
So the electrician came to my house and installed a 50amp breaker and the unit, he does not want to mess with the setting at all so when he left, he claimed that he hooked everything up properly, but I kept on getting those 3 blinking lights, would any of you please tell me what might have gone wrong here?

Thanks

01.JPG

02.JPG

03.JPG

I'm not an electrician, but I've played with those buttons and looked at the manual numerous times and thoroughly started the study of electrical work (but never concluded), so I'll answer a preliminary guess, and then a real electrician can answer. My guess will be around 90% correct, in terms of probability.

First, it says "Warning: Power MUST remain OFF before setting or changing the DIP or rotary switches. Blah blah blah (why)." So, go turn the breaker OFF before doing the below.

Ok, from Page 21, the Rotary Switch Position #8 is for 40A Maximum Output Current for a Circuit Breaker of 50A, which matches your original post circuit size.

Also from Page 21, it says "Switch Position 1: For a Line to Line Connection (240V) set the DIP switch DOWN." I'm almost certain you need to change the setting of your dip switch 1 to DOWN (because you said House); while I'm not 100% certain about this, I'm 99% certain that your house does not use 277VeffAC nominal in that application, and does do 240VeffAC nominal. Your electrician putting in a black and red wires does not contradict the 240V (but it also wouldn't contradict the 277V).

Also from Page 21, it says "Switch Position 2: DIP Switch Position 2 should always be in the UP position." That matches your setup now.