TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Want to Buy/Rent/Borrow Chademo Adaptor

Discussion in 'Canada' started by SluyterCapital, Jul 13, 2016.

1. SluyterCapital

Wanting to take Tessie to northern New Brunswick in August for about a week. Without the RDL Supercharger built I will need to use the chargers along the way. Are there any kind souls who would lend me, entrepreneurs who would rent or sell me their Chademo Adaptor for this time? I am happy to place a deposit on the charger.

Thanks Paul P85

2. hacer

hacer Member

• Informative x 1
  3. Chopr147

Chopr147 Active Member

OK now i'm a newbie to this with an S on order. What exactly do I need the Chademo adaptor for? Is this for charging at say a friends house while on a trip?

4. hacer

hacer Member

A Chademo charger is a high-speed DC charging station that is not nearly as fast as a super charger and usually isn't free. But it is a heck of a lot faster than any AC charging station (where you'd typically use the J1772 adapter that comes with the car). You can't charge at a Chademo charger unless you have an adapter. It can be useful if you're driving in an area where there aren't superchargers but there are some Chademo chargers. You can see a map of Chademo chargers on plugshare.

5. SluyterCapital

6. hacer

hacer Member

I'm planning a vacation trip this August to Quebec. I was figuring on using destination charging in Quebec city and it seems like I can use superchargers mostly on the rest of my trip, but I've been wondering whether I should take one along just in case, especially since this will be my first long distance trip in my 70D.

7. SluyterCapital

It's only +/-150km to Quebec City from Drummondville. With destination charging you won't need to use any other means to charge.

8. SluyterCapital