Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Warning!!! Model 3 will make you immature (again)

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
First full day of driving my P3D today. Let me preface this with been driving over 30 years, only two speeding tickets.... :)

So I am cruising the main drag in Salt Lake (locals call it State Street), pull up to the stop light, being a total noob, still learning how to slow smoothly with hold on etc... Up comes a beautiful red Mustang GT rumbling like a banshee. Pulls up next to me at the red light. I peek over out of the corner of my eye to see if the driver is looking back at me,: he isn't, or is he, almost like he is looking out of the corner of his eye too... Younger guy (upper 20's, by my guess) with an even younger passenger riding shotgun (who definitely was looking over). Light turns green, mustang takes off with that wonderful mustang sound as I am fiddling with my classical music (just got spotify going ya know..) Not normally a classic music guy (More Van Halen, if you're asking.) but wanted to crank it and see how many instruments I could hear on the new system (how could I not). Mustang screams down the road, oh... another red light. I come not so eloquently gliding up with a slight hold and accelerator stutter combo. This time I take my focus off spotify's top classical picks. I look over to my right, he's looking at me and I am looking at him. I haven't drag raced anyone in 20 years... I look away. Light turns green, mustang goes but with less fervor this time. I blip my accelerator and seemingly, instantly pop up to his side, he doesn't like this and mashes his gas with all his ponies roaring (wow, it sounds so good). I blip again from maybe 40% to 50%, I don't know, all this is new to me, but it feels about half power. I pass him.. He keeps pressing on and I blip again, easily keeping ahead until I coast (a little more smoothly t