TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Was delivered S this month with old FSD computer

Discussion in 'Model S' started by dacloo, Sep 28, 2019.

  1. dacloo

    dacloo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi!

    Glad to be part of the community here. This is my first post.

    I bought a new Tesla S a few weeks back and found out the old FSD is still installed (it records dashboard videos in H264 and not HEVC, a test to see if the new computer is installed without opening the car).
    I paid for the FSD upgrade as well, right after the delivery.

    I’m really angry about this because all model 3’s have the new one as well.

    What should I do? It’s really hard to speak to a real human being and it takes forever to make an appointment.

    thanks!
     
  2. Saghost

    Saghost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,146
    Location:
    Delaware
    Before you do anything else, dig into the dash and check the part number. There’s a good chance you actually have the new computer after all.

    In the 2019.28.x firmware versions, Tesla switched all of the AP3 cars to use the older codec, possibly because a few folks were experiencing stuttering in the videos.

    I think that remains the case for all current firmware, though I haven’t verified the most recent versions yet. Not sure when or if Tesla will start using H265 again.
     
    • Like x 3
    • Helpful x 1
  3. brkaus

    brkaus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,031
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Take a deep breath. Read the comment above.
     
    • Like x 2
  4. dacloo

    dacloo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Thank you! That is news to me. I’m not comfortable opening up a dashboard of a new car myself (I am clumsy) - hopefully there is some piece of software that will allow me to query the hardware?
     
  5. Saghost

    Saghost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,146
    Location:
    Delaware
    Not that I’ve read of yet. TeslaFI still routinely misidentifies them, too.
     
    • Like x 1
  6. Dithermaster

    Dithermaster Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    580
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    If you didn't buy FSD option at order time the car might have been built with the HS2.5 computer. You said you didn't order FSD, but upgraded to it after delivery. So if you have a pre-HW3 computer they will upgrade it for free sometime later. You'll still get it in the end, but you paid more to get less by waiting until after delivery.
     
    • Informative x 1
  7. dacloo

    dacloo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Thank you! That is indeed the case: I upgraded right after delivery and this was a straight software upgrade (instantly changed the available settings in my autopilot screen).
    Teslafi confirmed I have the older FSD computer.

    In that case I assume I should contact them for installation?

    Thanks for your help!

     
  8. dacloo

    dacloo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Netherlands
    ps: in the Netherlands the option is as expensive before as it is after, but reduces your tax burden (because the taxes for driving it under a company name is based on the total cost of the car including options when you ordered it)
     
    • Like x 1
  9. boaterva

    boaterva Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    7,467
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    Did you read above? TeslaFi does NOT read option codes correctly because the API is not reporting them correctly. Again, it doesn’t matter until code for HW3 exists. Right now everything runs better on 2.5 hardware and is emulated on 3. So it runs worse on 3 and there is no HW 3 functionally. Stop worrying about it.

    You will be contacted for an AP CPU swap out in due course.
     
    • Like x 3
  10. October

    October Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    FL
    How did TeslaFi confirm you have "the older FSD computer"?
     
  11. Dithermaster

    Dithermaster Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    580
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    From what I've read here, they'll contact you. They are doing it in phases. Currently there is no advantage to having the newer hardware. But if you're talking to the service center for something else, I'd ask them if they can upgrade you during your regular service call.
     
  12. drklain

    drklain Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2016
    Messages:
    992
    Location:
    Scottsdale, AZ/Fairfax, VA/Brussels, BE
    To be clear...I don't think ANY customer AP 2.0 or 2.5 unit has been upgraded to 3.0 yet....
     
  13. MP3Mike

    MP3Mike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    13,393
    Location:
    Oregon
    Actually there has been confirmed upgrades now.
     
  14. ucmndd

    ucmndd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Messages:
    5,222
    Location:
    California
    Sofiaan Fraval on Twitter
     
  15. AW9nineteen

    AW9nineteen Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2019
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    Maryland
    Now this makes me wonder if I have the newer HW or not. Raven delivered last month. No way to check but wait? Should I just call and ask my SC?
     
  16. brkaus

    brkaus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,031
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    RELAX
    there has been ONE confirmed upgrade. A social media influencer. Picked “randomly”.

    I just wouldn’t worry about it for now.
     
  17. Tim-in-CA

    Tim-in-CA Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2018
    Messages:
    239
    Location:
    Corona, CA
    How do you confirm the FSD hardware? Are there instructions to remove the dash to read the part numbers? I just had HW 3 installed in my MS, but videos are in H.264 vs 265. Thanks
     
  18. MP3Mike

    MP3Mike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    13,393
    Location:
    Oregon
    The video encoding format is no longer a way to identify the HW version. (Tesla switched HW3 back to H.264.)
     
  19. MP3Mike

    MP3Mike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    13,393
    Location:
    Oregon
    Here is someone reporting that they have been upgraded:

     
  20. Tim-in-CA

    Tim-in-CA Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2018
    Messages:
    239
    Location:
    Corona, CA
    Thanks ... just want to be sure that they didn’t misconfigure something at the SC. I have latest iOS app, and don’t see the smart summon Come to Me option, so I started digging to confirm if I actually have the right HW.
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC