Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Washing Model S - Chemical Guys - Question

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hey forum I have a question; I have Black model S; using the chemical guys waterless solution, two towels and I have having these awful streaks on the front hood that I driving me nuts. I don't notice on anywhere else on the car.

I have the front Xpel wrapped (75% of the entire car is wrapped) the rest is Opticoat (25%)

Any tips, tricks, help you all can offer?

Thanks!

Just curious. And don't mean to cast funny looks at folks that are super careful about how they wash their cars. But I've been driving Teslas for a few years now and when the car's dirty it goes through a car wash that uses brushes that actually touch the car. Even the occasional paint chip doesn't bother me.

It's a special car. It's an incredible car. Best car I've ever owned. If I ever have to replace it it will be with another Tesla.

But it's still just a car.

Am I the only one who feels that way? :) :) :)

...it's still just a car...Am I the only one who feels that way?..
I always feel a little embarrassed to have my car be dirty. Maybe its because it is black and sooo many people comment on how nice the car is. And I grew up in a family of hand wash, detailing perfectionists.

I have compromised with cheap brushless drive through and am thinking of adding waterless spot cleanup for the inevitable streaks after driving away from the carwash.

Waterless is risky man. So much potential for scratches and swirls