Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Washing your Model Y

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
What is your routine for washing the Y. What products do you use. The first time today washing it and with all this glass it was not easy. Not only do you need a lift to get to the center of the car, because it is also quite tall, but it was also difficult to get the glass streak-free. Seemed like the time it took to wash and dry was almost double of other cars I have owned.

I just did mine for the first time the other day. I used ONR with two bucket method. I've never done it before and it was pretty easy. I just didn't do the glass roof, mine was pretty clean already. I definitely need some sort of ladder to do that in the future.

On my X I use a mop stick to clean the glass top because I can't reach by hand. I make sure to clean it really well after use, and she never gets used on paint. I have hand worn microfiber mits for paint areas.

To dry, get a good towel! I can do my X and the wife's mazda with a single PFM Towel from Griots. Just drape it over the top and pull towards you.

Thanks for the suggestions. After the first wash, I noticed condensation under the glass by the passenger side front and rear passenger side door. After 12 hrs it still remains. I noticed when I took delivery, some wind noise coining from this area so the condensation makes sense. When the tech came out to install a Homelink she mentioned sometimes new seals take a bit to fully expand. Don't think that was the issue.